Week 92: Date Night at the Movies

The big screen, popcorn and special moments with my wife…

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah
3 min readDec 16, 2017

--

Each Sunday, my wife and I cook and eat a meal together — intentionally. Every Friday, I’ll be sharing our experience here in this space. I want to see the growth that will come in our marriage because of this. I hope you enjoy our story. You can find last week’s post here.

Marriage isn’t always easy. In fact, it’s seldom easy. It’s like so much in life in that doing it well doesn’t just happen. It takes work. It takes generosity. It takes selflessness. The difficulty comes from the fact that I am often lacking in my willingness to foster all three within myself. Thankfully, I’m not the only one in the relationship. My wife so often has an overflowing store of work ethic, generosity and selflessness. She picks me up when I’m in need of it. I strive to do the same for her.

But sometimes you just need to get outside of the regular routine.

Sarah and I try to schedule regular date nights. But calendars can quickly fill up. We had just come from a busy weekend. The first weekend in December is when the women in Sarah’s family go to a local craft show together. They have so much fun with it every year. After all that excitement, we were ready to have some time to ourselves. It just so happened that one of our local movie theaters had a late-night showing of Lady Bird — a film that had recently set the record for postive Rotten Tomatoes reviews. So, we bought our tickets and headed to the show.

Switching It Up

Sarah and I often joke about how we have started going to bed earlier and earlier. It’s not uncommon for us to turn out the lights before 10pm. So a 9:30pm movie start time isn’t necessarily the norm for us.

But sometimes it’s fun to switch things up.

To Sarah’s credit, she agreed to the late-night date without hesitation. Maybe that had something to do with the possibility of popcorn, maybe it didn’t. In any case, we found ourselves seated in a theater together watching a story come to life before our eyes on the big screen. And we did get some popcorn, to boot. It was a fun night.

Taking a Break

We both loved Lady Bird, and I even posted a review of it on my website. Sometimes Sarah and I have different tastes when it comes to movies (okay most of the time we do), but we both had a really enjoyable time at this movie.

Life does get hard sometimes. That’s why little breaks are important. Change up the routine. Build margin into the schedule. Slow down for a bit and go out and have some fun.

Maybe a movie night isn’t all that big a deal. But, if you’ve read any of our posts before, you should know that just because something seems simple doesn’t mean it isn’t important. I’m glad Sarah and I took some time for a fun date night. I always love sharing these experiences with her.

Thanks for reading. As always, we wish you the best as you enjoy simple moments with those you love!

And don’t forget to follow Cooking With Sarah on Instagram!

--

--

Aaron Charles
Cooking With Sarah

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com