A Nine-Finger Meal

Cooking with Rei
CookingWithRei
Published in
5 min readSep 20, 2019
Terri and Zeke

Okay so I got a nasty paper cut on my left pointer finger while flipping through cookbooks looking for ideas for Sunday’s dinner (this is Rei btw), hence the title “A Nine Finger Meal,” as I was down a finger during prep time.

And now, back to your regularly scheduled program! Take it away, Mom!

So I was in San Diego for the weekend for a conference and to see the #1 boy child (whoa! what does that make me?? #1 boi child?~Rei) at SDSU. Meanwhile, back at the mother ship, Rei got started with a goat cheese cheesecake that was a bit too goat cheesy for me but was gorgeous. Interesting ingredients in the crust: water crackers, brown sugar, walnuts, and melted butter.

Doesn’t this look delicious? Goat cheese, mascarpone, lemon zest, eggs, sugar, and a pinch of salt. Creamy deliciousness. (I was rather nervous that the food processor would be too full to function properly, but it ended up being fine :D ~Rei)

Before the bake. Rei named him Hughbert. (Yes, Hughbert was my son, I loved him very much— rip Hughbert — and I ate him with great joy~Rei)

After the bake, he’s still Hughbert…just a little fatter. (Hey! Don’t fatshame my son!! He is beautiful just the way he is~Rei)(Was…he is now in our bellies!~Terri)

This is one of Rei’s artsy pictures of the rabbit (duck season! no rabbit season! no duck season…). Still not using the garlic from our yard, I see. The thyme was from our yard.

Time to cook up the rabbit. I don’t think I was here for this either. (You weren’t. You got home when everything was basically done, I think~Rei) (Yep, I was hanging out with your brother. Feel bad?~Mom)

Rei got to work on the crust for the onion tart…basically onion pizza. My friend Amy would like to confirm it was good and is insisting that Rei make it again. (I was already planning on making it again lmao it was really good~Rei)

Rei put Zeke to work on the onions. We read that if you cut onions by an open flame and the fan that maybe we can avoid tears. I think he was just fine even after cutting up 4–5 onions. (Dad also has eyeballs of steel when it comes to onions~Rei)

Before it went into the oven, Rei prepared the dough, cooked up the onions, and added some Parmesan and some oregano. Really tasty that night and again tonight as a leftover appetizer as I cooked dinner (fried rice with leftovers from the last few nights)(It was tasty~Rei).

A snapshot of the onion tart with some Iron Horse Vineyard bubbly. We had it tonight with some Larsen Projekt grenache rose. Paired well.

And then it was done. Rabbit, onion tart, and some boiled potatoes/carrots. Boiled dinner with rabbit? Odd. Cookbook: I (Ethel Brennan & Sara Remington). (I was disappointed with how it looked, but it was really tasty~Rei)

View from my seat at dinner. Was really good by the way.

And then it was dessert time. Impressive, Rei. I did nothing for this meal other than eat it. (Nope! But I’m proud of how I did basically all on my own, managing my time rather well if I do say so myself!~Rei)

Rei, anything to add?

Not much, other than to note the remarkable occasion of my mom calling Felix (our cat) a little hoe. Usually, our affectionate nickname is ‘grumpy asshole’ or something of the sort, so this was refreshingly comedic.

I wished I could have made the dinner look prettier, but I’m really happy with how it tasted, and how the rabbit was cooked! I’m working on not tying how pretty my meal is to how ‘good’ it is — the only downside to sharing what I cook is that I suddenly feel this self-imposed pressure to make everything pretty because I’m planning on posting pictures. (Let it go, let it go…Rei!~Terri)(Yes, I know, that’s why I said I’m working on it!~Rei)

We also discovered a cool little food combo tonight, but it’s a little bit of a story.

So I saw a package of Jello(TM) chocolate pudding mix in the lazy Susan and decided that I wanted some (I don’t know how long it’d been sitting there, because we never make or eat pudding, but I decided I wanted to treat myself). I made the pudding after dinner, and Amy, Mom, and I sat at the counter as I finished my homework and we all ate some.

Then, Amy, the absolute genius goddess that she is, uttered the words that have changed my life forever: “This would be great with some Oreos(TM) crumbled on top.”

A little backstory: I made oreos a little while ago, but didn’t make enough frosting for the amount of cookies I had, so we had some Oreo(TM)-esque cookies sitting around, begging to be dipped in Jello(TM) chocolate pudding. So that’s exactly what we did. And it was amazing.

lmao you can see my math textbook in the background — thanks Mr. K! (Mr. K is my Algebra II/Trig teacher and always assigns a rather large amount of homework)

Alright! Mom is again complaining that she’s tired and Violet(the dog) is begging to go to bed already, so here is where I say goodbye! So, until next time, have a trankulondinific day!

Rei and Terri

--

--

Cooking with Rei
CookingWithRei

Mother/kid duo on a global cooking adventure. We’re just cooking, taking pictures and writing all about it. Snark courtesy of Rei. Rei says, “you’re welcome!”