Pasta Redemption

Cooking with Rei
CookingWithRei
Published in
3 min readSep 12, 2019

These are pasta noodles…not the little nuggets of failure I created last week.

I actually followed the directions for the pasta dough and set it aside for a few hours. I typically let it set for at least 4, but I was busy working and got started too late so it ended up being about 2 hours. It was fine.

This is in the process of shaping it into a rectangle before I rolled it out and set it aside to dry for about 20 minutes.

Then it was time to fold into a packet and slice by hand. I like the rough cuts…it adds personality to a dish.

One of our favorite sauces is a simple sage butter sauce. Melt a cube of butter with a handful of sage leaves (these are from our garden) and voila! Delicious buttery goodness with a hint of sage. Perfect with fresh home made pasta.

We had lamb left over from Saturday night and so I tossed it into the butter. Not bad. Not great.

Zeke made some braised spinach so we would have a green vegetable to offset the butter.

Cooked to perfection. I don’t think it cooked for 4 minutes. It doesn’t take long.

We decided to make pasta bowls with the pasta, spinach, and the lamb in sage butter sauce. These are my favorite bowls. I smile every time I use them because I am reminded of our trip to Orange a few years ago.

Yes, I bought dishware to bring home with the 8 cookbooks I brought to France. They were wrapped in bubble wrap and then I wrapped them in the linens I also bought in Provence.

Dinner wasn’t fancy but we did clear some space in the fridge!

Rei is busy making Oreos…it’s nearly 9 PM on a school night but Rei is refreshed from taking a nap in their 6th period digital photography class. Sigh.

Have a rainbowdelicious day.

Terri

--

--

Cooking with Rei
CookingWithRei

Mother/kid duo on a global cooking adventure. We’re just cooking, taking pictures and writing all about it. Snark courtesy of Rei. Rei says, “you’re welcome!”