Aquaponics

Akinori Maegawa
From the Cookpad Team
3 min readFeb 15, 2018

Imagine you catch fish from your garden with fresh vegetables and eat them for dinner. Nothing would be fresher than this, and it would be ideal for me as I am starving for fresh fish.

Aquaponics would make it possible. It’s a way to farm fish in a pool and grow vegetables hydroponically water pumped up from the pool. The water is well fertilized from excretions of fish. The water is pumped up to the vegetable plant. It is from ancient times. It is very rough explanation; if you want to know more, you can find more on Wikipedia.

Projects

There is a community-based aquaponics group in Bristol. I participated one meetup and I felt its excitement. They were very kind and gave me a lot of information. Learn from local community is great.

I also visited GrowUp in London. They have a complete system in a rooftop container.

I heard from one of the leaders of GrowUp that tilapia is a common fish used for the aquaponics (I have never eaten tilapias, but I found quite a few tilapia recipes on Cookpad, by the way.)

There is a commercial scale aquaponics farm in California.

HomeKit

I researched if there are handy kits straightly installed to home, there are couples of them.
From Etsy

From Japan

If you want to learn aquaponic gardening, this is a bit old but there is a good course at Udemy.

More

Would it be a solution for food production on Mars? I do not want to introduce one source, but if you google “Aquaponics Mars”, you will see many exciting projects.

I want to explore, as a hobby, the possibilities such as
* Easy installation for small garden
* More expensive and tasty fish such as trouts or river eels.
* Solar battery powered water pump backed
* Growing vegetables not in a watery sponge but with wormy compost and feed the worms to the fish

There are many interesting aquaponics projects all over the world, and I am catching up. 🐟🥗

--

--

Akinori Maegawa
From the Cookpad Team

Team EVUCA lead at Cookpad Ltd. DIY, Hack, Fishing, Education, Kyoto->Tokyo->Bristol