6/8/20- Stir-Fried Chicken

CA Editors
Cooks Anonymous
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2020

Tonight, I made my Chicken Stir Fry. I’ll give you a rundown and then I’ll share some suggestions for if you make it.

The Stir Fry that I make is basically everything-but-the-kitchen-sink style where anything that makes sense goes in. I love the salty soy flavor because it seasons the vegetables and makes the whole thing come together harmoniously. Did that sound as weird as I think it did? Okay. With that outta the way, I’ll give you my tips.

  1. Start with shallots, garlic, ginger and green onions. You don’t have to use all, and add them at the same time as (at least for me) the garlic doesn’t really burn in my grapeseed-oiled wok (I use a non-stick Scanpan Wok Pan (not authentic but awesome)
  2. Par-steam harder veg for about 2 minutes (I despise the word “veggie”) like small-cut carrots, celery, asparagus and zucchini.
  3. Through the cook, add a little sesame oil, soy sauce and rice wine vinegar to moisten the contents.

Here’s the order in which I add the ingredients to the wok:

  1. Add the grapeseed oil.
  2. Sweat (cook until semi-translucent) the shallots, ginger, garlic and green onion.
  3. Start cooking the diced chicken (or shrimp or beef).
  4. Add some soy sauce, sesame oil and rice wine vinegar.
  5. Finish cooking the protein (about 10 minutes, total for chicken or 8-or-so minutes, total for shrimp). Always cut into and taste the protein to ensure doneness and seasoning.
  6. Add the steamed vegetables you are using to wok and cook until saucy, about 3 minutes.
  7. Add more of the seasoning liquids, if necessary, and, if doing so, cook for 2 minutes more.
  8. Serve over rice or Asian-y noodles (spaghetti in a pinch; you can also add the rice or noodles to the pan and toss to combine). Enjoy!
A shrimp stir-fry that I made recently

--

--