Bempah
Unconventional Ghanaians
2 min readJan 8, 2016

--

It’s interesting how you chose to pick God’s omnipotence over his inability to go back on his word. Now you say he can, but he won’t. Fine. That opens up a whole new tangent you know. First, I have no other assurance that he won’t go back on his word, other than his word, which as you say, he can go back on? You see the problem here?

To the issue of blood sacrifice, I was expecting the Eden situation, since it’s something I also learnt some time ago. This exposes a dichotomy. The first part is the essence of my original post, why did God institute bloodshed (keep in mind that he is omnipotent) when he could have simply forgiven without drama and ceremony? And I must once again highlight that when Jesus walked the earth he forgave sins by word of mouth alone. This to me throws serious doubt on the necessity of bloodshed. But considering that even in the beginnings of the world God had to crucially institute blood sacrifice, I start to think; is this practice more primordial, more sacred to the workings of the universe than God himself? Like in Akan theology, our ancestors believed that there’s a single location of existence, let’s call it the universe, and it’s laws and mechanics transcend even God himself. Is that so for the Judeo-Christian God too?

Lets talk next about sin, shall we. What is sin? From all I have ever read, and you have beautifully written, sin is simply God not getting his way. You may rephrase that however you chose, but that is the most undisguised meaning you can take from it. Take the first instance of sin; God told Adam and Eve not to do something, and they did it. He gave them the choice of free will, then he punished them when this choice wasn’t in his favor. I like your analogy, I’m a recovering romantic myself so I like the appeal of love. He sings of a girl he loves, who he entreats to be with him, she chooses not to (very poor choice in my opinion, like how can’t you love a guy that sings!) and ends up confused. Let me try to expand your analogy in the Christian context. Let’s say because she did not choose him he proceeds to burn her house with her locked in it down. For all eternity. Does that sound like love or some weird serial killer stalker? Where’s the free will if you are breathing down my neck, whispering in my ear that, choose me or I shall kill you over, and over, and over, and over again…. For all eternity. Sounds like a line from George Orwell’s 1984, “freedom is slavery.” There’s something I always say; take away the threat of eternal punishment and watch how many people still think Christianity is worthwhile.

--

--