Title Title Title: An unconventional title

Mawuli Adjei
Unconventional Ghanaians
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readJan 5, 2016

Hello readers

Ghana is a country in the middle of the world. It is neither located too far east, nor too far west. It has a fair number of people and boasts of a fair number of resources. It has not fought in any wars of its own in quite a long while. Also, its football team, the Black Stars, is an a-little-bit-above-average side. If Ghana was in the Goldilocks and the Three Bears story, it would be that bowl of porridge that had enough of everything to tempt the little girl into risking her life by messing with a family of ferocious carnivores (bears are actually omnivores but I am going for dramatic effect).

In short, Ghana doesn’t have a lot of things about it that really makes it stand out. But it really does stray away from the norm when it comes to its immediate international community and that makes it an unconventional country in its own way. This description extends to many people in Ghana. We all go about our lives as though we are just like the rest of the pack. However, we are all quirky and we exude stories of excellence in our very own ways. I have noticed this and using the famous phrase which top innovators use, according to my Design lecturer and a bunch of other scholars in Ivy League Schools, I asked myself “How Might We” get all these excellent Ghanaians to tell their stories to the rest of the world?

And in truly melodramatic fashion, the Unconventional Ghanaians publication was born. I called up a couple of writers and asked them to creatively write about how unconventional they are. They put out the excellent pieces out and today, I feel compelled to formalize their amazing efforts by addressing all our 11 followers. Lol.

What’s interesting about this publication is that I used no criteria whatsoever in selecting my writers. At first, I thought this strategy would bring chaos but in the end, all the first pieces turned out to be Christian and Christmas themed which reflected the season and the celebration we were in. Reflecting on this, I realize that there is so much power in this space as it has evolved in only 2-and-a-half weeks to become a mirror of what Ghanaian youth are thinking or experiencing to a large extent and I am really looking forward to seeing what the future has in store for all you unconventional readers of this unconventional publication.

Happy reading.

(P.S. I promise less lengthy letters in the future)

Mawuli Adjei,

An Unconventional Ghanaian.

--

--

Mawuli Adjei
Unconventional Ghanaians

I’m looking for happiness in a box of Korean Fried Chicken