Crew Profile: Giuseppe Moschella

Celebrity Cruises
Coordinates
Published in
4 min readSep 29, 2016

Giuseppe Moschella may only be 23, but this International Host has lived in six different countries and speaks Italian, German, Spanish, French, Portuguese and English. Although he was born and raised in a village not far from Taormina, on the east coast of Sicily, Giuseppe considers himself a true citizen of the world. He loves venturing to far away places, experiencing exciting new cultures, eating mouthwatering dishes, getting to know the locals, and exploring every inch of every destination he gets the chance to visit.

His role aboard Celebrity Reflection allows him to travel the open seas while keeping his finger on every city’s pulse. As the ship’s main translator, he adapts the daily program and makes several announcements per day in the six languages that he speaks.

Giuseppe chooses a life at sea because nothing beats, “sharing your life with so many people from different parts of the world. The cultural diversity on the ship is fantastic. With more than 65 nationalities on board you feel like the world is small and you all belong to the same place. I think that spending so much time with people with different ideas, traditions and customs helps me mature and become more open-minded.”

Giuseppe challenges your expectations of what traveling the world aboard a cruise ship can be. He takes pride in giving guests thoughtful and personalized recommendations and being able to make guests happy, no matter what.

One of the more unique requests he’s received occurred when visiting the port of Naples. While there, a guest asked if he could bring his family of 15 on board for a tour of the ship. Unfortunately, that type of request is not permitted due to security and safety precautions.

“I went outside and spoke to the family to apologize and explained to them the reasons why I could not invite them on board. They understood, but one of the kids started to cry. I didn’t know what to do. So, the father asked me if I could at least bring the child’s stuffed animal on the ship and take pictures with it. I said yes, but I did not realize that the child did not have the toy with him. The father drove home, and I waited over 25 minutes while talking to the family until he returned. The father handed me a raggedy, old stuffed mouse full of holes and cuts. Stunned and unsure what to do, I grabbed the mouse and their cellphone and proceeded to every deck of the ship. I took pictures with this mouse, while trying to hide it from other guests. I wasn’t sure how they would react to me taking pictures with this worn out mouse while in my uniform. However, I felt it was more important to give this little boy (and his mouse) a tour of the ship. After about 30 minutes, I returned with the mouse and a cellphone full of staged mouse photos. The boy smiled and was anxious to see the inside of this large ship. He gave me a huge hug and the family invited me to their house for lunch where they cooked for me and gave me little gifts to bring back on board. I did feel foolish at the beginning, walking through the entire ship with that ugly mouse, but I felt proud of the small thing that I did for this guest and his family. I’m sure that boy is still showing the pictures to all his friends at school.”

Aside from filling guests’ requests, Giuseppe is more than happy to give tips and have a good chat with everybody on board.

“I don’t just visit our ports of call, I truly live in them, and I’ve loved them all. I’ve been almost everywhere, and I am passionate about traveling to the rest of the places in the world I haven’t seen yet.”

He always explores cities by foot to truly immerse himself and promises tips that, “you could never find on Google.”

His personal philosophy is, “I have no fear about starting something new. I have left home countless times for places where I didn’t even know the language and I couldn’t even read the signs. Life is never boring to somebody who loves to travel. The world is such a great place to live and to visit, never stop traveling and discovering. There is a lot to see and a lot to do. Visit all those places you always dreamed of and be open-minded with every nationality. Eventually, you’ll realize that we are all so similar and our differences make us and the world interesting.”

#BeyondBorders

--

--