9 Things I Learned In My First 72 Hours In Copenhagen

Juan Franco
Coronatimes in Copenhagen
2 min readJan 23, 2016
Hello Denmark!

I’ve been in Denmark for 3 days. Why not celebrate with a good old listicle?

  1. Landing at Copenhagen Kastrup International Airport was one of the most breathtaking approaches I have experienced. Don’t believe me? Check it out:

2. Danes are incredibly nice people who are friendly, helpful and quick to jump to English if they realize you can’t speak Danish (Hello, that’s me).

3. Public transportation in Copenhagen is what all other cities should try and aim for. Seriously, the integrated bus, metro and train system is the most efficient and easy to navigate I have ever been in. Taxis and Ubers are crazy expensive btw. Bikes are also widely used, however I have yet to embark upon that adventure, so I’ll save that for a future post.

4. Supermarkets here are about the size of an aisle in a U.S. Wal-Mart but the Danes make it work and you find most of what you need by visiting one or two.

Market near my school sold boxed wine. Yassss!

5. The city has tourist attractions EVERYWHERE. From the Little Mermaid statue to Nyhavn there is no shortage of amazing things to see.

6. Google Maps is a life saver. ‘nough said.

7. Restaurant prices are higher than what I am used to, specially later in the day since restaurants often have a separate lunch and dinner menu and the later one is a bit pricier.

Never mind the pricess. I still enjoyed a cold Carlsberg with my dad.

8. Late sunrises and early sunsets during winter takes time to get used to. It gets dark at 5ish and my warm bed and Netflix account are too much of a temptation.

9. Snow can be fun. Actually I still need to learn this. Snow still sucks.

--

--

Juan Franco
Coronatimes in Copenhagen

Just a permanent traveler seeking his place in the world.