Food and Identity: The $3 European Poptart

Abby Richmond
Coronatimes in Copenhagen
4 min readJul 1, 2016

--

July 1st, 2016

Today in class, we had our last class. It was full of our presentations on Danish food phenomenons (mine being on the non-existence of GMOs in Danish food). One of my classmates presented on Danish pastries. Halfway through the presentation, we were given the chance to have a fifteen minute break. A few of us looked at each other like we knew what each other was going to say- let’s go grab a pastry.

We raced down the stairs of our building, out the door that happens to lead to one of Europe’s longest pedestrian (non car) streets- Strøget. This is one of my favorite features of DIS- you’re literally in the center of the city constantly. We had to take only 5 steps before we reached our destination; Lagekaghuset.

When I was with my parents in Denmark, we went to one of these bakeries on our second day. Being new to the city, I frantically wrote the name down of this bakery thinking it was a hidden gem. Little did I know, it had many other locations around Copenhagen.

Nonetheless, I was on a mission to get a “hindbærsnitter”.. think: European Poptart that costs $3. I had heard this poptart thing was the real deal so I was willing to give it a shot. Those who know me know my love for pop tarts.

Pictured below is one assortment of some of what this place offers. It’s definitely hard to walk past outside and not want something.

Here’s the hindbærsnitter:

Before I enjoyed my classy-ass poptart, I took some pictures of my classmates who all came to this bakery for one last treat. Many of them are leaving, as this is the end of Session 2. Thus, they had to get in as much Danish culture as they could. After spending a week together bonding over food in Barcelona + 2 other weeks of class, it’s going to be weird not having them around Copenhagen.

Here they are, with their pastries, doing what we did the past three weeks (tons of eating), in their natural form!!!

Tess:

Nicole (Do it for the blog)

Nicole also got the hindbærsnitter.

Me with my hindbærsnitter-

Shantel tried getting the pastry that they had available for sample. We both agreed it tasted like apple. When she asked for the apple pastry, the workers had no idea what she was talking about. This was the first time the language barrier has actually been a problem, because I NEED to know what that sample pastry was called and eat it the rest of my time here.

UPDATE- it was an almond croissant. 10/10 recommend.

Courtney-

I can say I’m glad I tried the hindbærsnitter, but it’s probably something I won’t find myself buying again. It was extremely sweet, and seemed more like a dessert to me when even compared to a poptart (which I typically eat as a snack) It was bursting with flavor- buttery, fruity, soft. Definitely something a kid would LOVE. It’s something I recommend at least trying once before leaving Copenhagen.

--

--