I’m Good At Hobbies But Not At Working

Why my autistic self thrives on hobbies

Annika Hotta
Coping with Capitalism

--

A hand coming from out of frame to put together two pieces of a halfway-done puzzle on a clear table.
Photo by Ross Sneddon on Unsplash

As someone who lived most of their life without knowing I was autistic, I commonly sought solace in hobbies when I felt too different or lonely. Creating and maintaining friendships was a near-impossible feat. Through solitary hobbies, I got to know the deepest parts of myself.

They weren’t just something to kill time but a balm for my neurodivergent soul when I needed it most.

As I’ve grown older, the importance of hobbies has become clear to me. Where I faced constant barriers to obtaining work, many hobbies I picked up had little, if any, barrier to entry. They were there for the taking — an instant boost of joy and fulfillment.

In the capitalist system we’re all forced to live under, hobbies are a radical tool of self-preservation, especially for neurodivergent people who otherwise would have nowhere else to thrive.

Motivation, Motivation, All of it Gone

People under the neurodivergent umbrella tend to be intrinsically motivated, whereas neurotypical people tend to be motivated by external factors. This means that moving up the career ladder, hitting certain milestones, and gaining social acceptance amongst peers may motivate neurotypical people to work hard…

--

--

Annika Hotta
Coping with Capitalism

Professional Alexander Graham Bell hater who writes about accessibility, education, disabled stories, & life in Japan.