Let’s Talk About Love

Coptic Voice
Coptic Voice
Published in
1 min readDec 21, 2017

*NOTE: We’ve moved! To read the rest of this article, please visit www.copticvoiceus.com and be sure to subscribe so you can receive updates on new articles right in your inbox!

I had been driving to school in college, flipping through the radio stations when it hit me. Just about every song on the radio was on love. Having it, losing it, pining for it. Songs were laden with expressions such as, “you are my everything,” or “I’m nothing without you.”

I paused, turned the radio off for a minute, and reflected. Romantic love, I thought, seems to be the center point of people’s lives. It must be an essential to life, an absolute that gives us meaning and purpose. It has to be. Every artist knew this, and I did not. Why else would it be so ubiquitous?

In today’s age, we view romantic love as meant to fulfill and complete, concepts that were previously directed to the Divine.

--

--