Confessions of a Copywriter

My 10 Biggest Mistakes (and What I Learned)

Saleem Rana
CopyMasters Magazine
4 min readApr 15, 2024

--

As an aspiring copywriter, my heart sank when my first marketing campaign failed miserably.

The campaign I had poured my heart and soul into was a flop.

Dejected but not defeated, I knew that mopping wouldn’t help.

Instead, I decided to learn from my mistakes.

I had no idea how much this small decision would jumpstart my budding career as a copywriter!

Here’s the thing: all copywriters, from beginners to veterans, misinterpret the signals that excite clicks.

The trick to turning things around is simple — use your mistakes to fuel your growth.

Here, for example, are 10 common writing mistakes I’ve made and how I’ve fixed them.

Mistake #1: Ignore Your Target Audience

Problem: Creating generic copy that doesn’t meet the specific needs and desires of your target audience.

Solution: Conducting detailed research, develop buyer personas, and tailor your language and messaging to directly address your customers’ problems and aspirations.

Mistake #2: Assume Readers Know What to Do

Problem: Assuming readers know what to do next results in lost conversions.

Solution: Creating a call to action by using powerful verbs to convey a sense of urgency.

Mistake #3: Failing to Attract Attention

Problem: Weak openings that fails to attract readers or persuade those who read the first sentence or paragraph to read the rest of your copy.

Solution: Starting with an intriguing headline, then beginning with thought-provoking question, or interesting anecdote that immediately captures interest.

Mistake #4: Focusing on features, not benefits

Problem: Listing product features assuming readers know their relevance results in many people not understanding the benefits.

Solution: Focusing on your value proposition and highlighting how your feature solves a problem and improves your reader’s life.

Mistake #5: Skip proofreading and editing

Problem: Rushing to publish, ignoring typos, grammatical errors, and inconsistencies that reduce credibility and professionalism.

Solution: Using grammar correcting AI tools, getting feedback from others, and manually editing and proofreading to create error-free copy.

Mistake #6: Keyword stuffing

Problem: Forcing awkward keywords into copy for SEO juice that jar readers because they break the natural cadence of language.

Solution: Prioritizing clear, compelling language and organically incorporating keywords.

Mistake #7: Ignore SEO best practices

Problem: Not optimizing your copy for search engines, limiting its reach and visibility.

Solution: Conducting keyword research and strategically include relevant keywords in your copy, such as headlines, meta descriptions, and headings.

Mistake #8: Inconsistent brand voice

Problem: Publishing website content that lacks a consistent tone or style

Solution: Maintaining a consistent brand identity by creating brand identity guidelines.

Mistake #9: Lack of social proof

Problem: Not using testimonials, reviews, and case studies to build trust and authority.

Solution: Integrating social proof to demonstrate positive experiences and value of your services.

Mistake #10: Not testing or analyzing results

Problem: Not tracking performance and making data-based improvements.

Solution: Use analytical tools to measure copy success, A/B test different versions, and continually improve your approach based on insights gained.

7 Tips for Constant and Never Ending Improvement

Besides learning from mistakes, how else can you keep getting better at copywriting?

Here are some of my best practices to steal:

  1. Reading: I read books on anything that appeals for at least 20 minutes a day. Some are books on copywriting, others are on philosophy or physics. Somehow these diverse, interesting nuggets of information manage to sneak into my copy.
  2. Modeling: I study copywriting legends. I read about successful advertising campaigns and learn the techniques used by experienced copywriters.
  3. Asking: I ask for feedback. I share my work with colleagues and consult mentors to receive constructive criticism and gain fresh perspectives.
  4. Learning: I stay informed. I read about industry trends and evolving best practices. For instance, AI is now top of mind for most writers.
  5. Wondering: While I don’t claim to understand how AI writers are so much better at writing than I am, I still find it fascinating. (Yes, I understand that AI processes vast amounts of existing data to generate new content, and I understand that it learns the patterns, styles, and structures of writing, but I still can’t fathom how natural language processing (NLP) are more eloquent than us simply by mimicking human language. We seem to have more biocomputing hardware, but less robust processing power. For instance, while I may have 86 billion neurons and a lifetime of learning experiences, Gemini 1.5 can process a stunning 800,000 words, equivalent to 1 million tokens, at once.)
  6. Practicing: I write something everyday, whether or not I have a client or am working on developing a passive income stream.
  7. Editing: My first drafts are often terrible, but diligent copyediting (line editing) gets rid of most clunky sentences, rambling diversions, and awkward transitions.

Every Mistake is an Opportunity

Remember that every mistake is a learning opportunity. By accepting your mistakes and actively working to improve them, you can turn your mishaps into stepping stones to better writing.

Start your copywriting journey today from silly mistakes to egregious blunders by crafting increasingly better ways of expressing your ideas.

I’d love to hear about what you’ve learned from your writing errors.

Sharpen your copywriting skills with my FREE book

--

--

Saleem Rana
CopyMasters Magazine

I have an M.S. in Marriage and Family Therapy and am passionate about personal development and helping readers flourish through insightful, empowering content.