7 Simple Website Copy Templates

Nick Nolan
Copywriter’s Handbook
6 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Writing copy for your website is hard.

I remember listening to a ton of podcasts when I started freelancing. One episode was all about the importance of having a website. The big clients wouldn’t take me seriously if I didn’t have one. I’d never written website copy before, but I figured it couldn’t be that difficult.

Just tell people about me and what I do. I spent a few hours doing that and making it look as slick as I could.

Honestly, the end result was awful.

Anyone who stumbled upon those early versions of my site would run the other way.

I Googled “how to make a website” and learned what I could on the technical side, but never thought much about the wording. I knew how to string a sentence together and check for missing commas with Grammarly, so I could manage on my own.

Big mistake!

The wording, or copy, on the page was the most important thing. Especially since I was writing was the main service.

I went at it on my own and the website copy I wrote didn’t work at all.

Zero leads ❌
Zero new clients ❌

What I should’ve done is looked at websites that were working. I should’ve found other freelance writers who were ahead of me and…

--

--

Nick Nolan
Copywriter’s Handbook

Freelance marketing consultant | Writing about Copywriting, SEO, and Social Media