This Free 5-Hour Copywriting Course Teaches You Everything You Need to Know To Get Started

Nick Nolan
Copywriter’s Handbook
3 min readJul 29, 2022

--

Photo by Carl Jorgensen on Unsplash

A few years ago, I had no idea what copywriting was.

And I wrote a lot before I ever figured it out. I remember hearing the word copy or copywriting mentioned here and there, but it was never clear.

Even when I started freelance writing in 2020, I couldn’t explain what copywriting was. I’m sure I Googled “what is the difference between copywriting and content writing?” at least 10 times.

I started figuring it out more when I followed a few copywriters on LinkedIn. That led me to podcasts about copywriting, and a few books about it.

But, most of what I was learning was from dead copywriters.

I read tons of stuff from David Ogilvy, Eugene Schwartz, Claude Hopkins, and Gary Halbert. They were the copywriters who dominated the 1900s. And they created awesome resources that helped me build a solid understanding of copywriting.

But, I also felt a bit off because they were all advertising in a different world. The understanding of people and psychology hasn’t changed, but sometimes the copywriting advice from 50+ years ago seemed less helpful.

They weren’t creating websites or writing social media ads. I wanted to learn from people who were writing…

--

--

Nick Nolan
Copywriter’s Handbook

Freelance marketing consultant | Writing about Copywriting, SEO, and Social Media