Memoir: Travels & Archives of a Playful Spirit, part 11

California Body, Northwest Body, Body in Landscape

Mary Alice Long LICSW PhD
Memoir Project

--

Its hard to believe that I said yes to bearing another woman’s child in 1987.

After I returned home following his hospital birth, I realized what had happened and how I could never give away so much of myself ever again.

I wanted to create. I wanted to create the life I am living now. Imagination, Play, Creativity, Laughter.

I realized while living in California that I had been living in a foreign land and it was time to go home. Home to where my soul could rest and re-member.

Musty smell and cloakrooms with coats hanging, boots lined up neatly in front of the radiator. Child scared of the Boogie man.

Creosote’s smell. My Soul’s Place, a place where my bones will be laid to rest on day.

--

--

Mary Alice Long LICSW PhD
Memoir Project

Soulful Expressive Arts Therapy/Depth Psychology/Value of Play & Creativity ART AS MEDICINE: Joy is the Key to Healing Grief❤️‍🩹 https://maryalicelongphd.com