Los Angeles is vulnerable to climate change.

Dukwook Kim
Corgi Time
Published in
2 min readFeb 25, 2017

Hi! Welcome back.Today I want to talk about my experience related to weather. Do you guys remember what happened last Friday in LA? Yeah. There was heavy rain with wind. Thanks to the weather, it gave me unforgettable memory.

Last Friday, I had to live in the house without electricity for 13 hours. When power outage occurred in my house, it was day time and I was writing for my blog so it didn’t bother me a lot. Because there was sunlight and I had things to focus. However, after my laptop battery became 0% and when there were no more sunlight, my undesirable experience without electricity began. Some might say lighting up the candle in the raining day will quite sentimental. I will admit that first few minutes it was quite sentimental. However, when it passes an hour, I would like to say “Hell No~!” It’s hot and not bright like electrical light. When you see the light by candle, your eyes easily get tire. If you stay in the dark with a candle for 7 hours, then you will appreciate Edison for inventing the light bulb.

The worst part of power outage was that you can’t make a food at home. So, you need to go out. If you go out, traffic lights without signals are waiting for you. I saw 3 car accidents on the way to have my meal. On the way back to my home, I saw 2 more. Unfortunate to my neighbor, he was involved in one of the two. I think he also went out to have $10 meal, but eventually he ended up with $3000 meal.

When outage lasted about 10 hours, I called LA DWP to get the time estimation. Surprisingly, they said it can take as long as 25 hours to resolve the problem. I was pretty frustrating at that time. I couldn’t imagine myself living another day without electricity. I asked cause about this kind of incident and he answered it is due to extreme weather. Extreme weather is one of the things that can occur by climate change.

Last weeks heavy rainfall proved that LA area’s electricity is quite vulnerable to extreme weather. According to Los Angeles times, 50,000 Los Angeles residents spend the day without electricity due to the outage. If we include the people living near Los Angeles, then those numbers will noticeably go up.

Based on my experience, when power outage occur in LA it does not resolve within an hour. It takes at least 4 hours. I experienced 4 power outages in LA. All of them took more than 4 hours to resolve it. And all 4 power outages were caused by extreme weather change. Extreme weather change is one of the results of climate change. We should aware that climate change frequently shows up to us. Especially in LA. Hope we could find solution to this issue. Thank you for reading. Bye~!

--

--