#Profile Post

E Zach
Corgi Time
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2017

https://sites.psu.edu/siowfa15/2015/09/16/are-cell-phones-ruining-our-social-skills/

The writer comes off as an academic scholar. They seem to have an intellectual stance on the affects of cell phone use of the formation of genuine relationships. This, to me, gives them a strong sense of authority since they cite their sources and have a clear stance on the topic at hand. They, like me, agree that cell phone and extreme technology use has a major impact on the formation of genuine relationships. They use a combination of their citations and personal opinion to ease the reader into being more comfortable with receiving the given information. This writer generally blogs quite a bit. They talk about things mostly having to do with their physical body and well-being but every now and then there are articles of other topics discussed. The best part of this article is mainly their tone of voice. They come off as academic, but gift us with little pieces of real human communication.

“Although technology is great and all-what is it doing to the way teens communicate now a days? It is completely transforming our culture.”

The words “great and all” remind you that you are listening to another average person just like you, not just some scientist. The dash in between ‘all’ and ‘what’ definitely should be revised but in general, the sprinkling of these little phrases ease me into the article and make it more interesting to me.

They have quite a few readers who like to respond with personal examples relating to the topic at hand.

In this second post, she similarly cites her sources to support her curiosity in her laptop possibly becoming a health risk. I love how she starts with introducing her blog by saying, “As I was sitting in the HUB trying to brainstorm a topic to write for my blog, I became aware that my laptop had been sitting on my lap for quite some time now. I became distracted from thinking of a blog topic and quickly googled if there were any negative health effects that could be caused by heat and radiation from a laptop — thus finding my next blog topic.” This introduced her as being human just like you and me and made me more readily available to receive information on the topic. I myself have wondered if the physcial use of a laptop or cell phone had an affect on my well-being…cancer risks, radiation poisoning, etc. After reading this article, I did not expect to actually find out that the laptop on the lap does have a radiation affect on the body… leading to male fertility, etc. I believe her sources and relate completely to her questioning in writing on this topic.

--

--