Tears of the Arctic

Dukwook Kim
Corgi Time
Published in
3 min readApr 22, 2017

Hi~ Welcome Back! Good to see you again. Unfortunately, I have sad news for you. This post is going to be my very last blog post. I really appreciate your consecutive visiting to my blog I really hope my blog helped you to enlarge your knowledge about climate change.

Since this is my very last blog, I would like to introduce “Tears of the Arctic.” It is one of my favorite documentary films which was aired at South Korea in 2008. It recorded the highest viewing rate in documentary film history in Korea when it was aired. It is first series of “Tears of the Earth” which is consist with 3 other series:“Tears of the Amazon”, “Tears of the Africa”, and “Tears of the Antarctic.” All documentary films consisting “Tears of the Earth” show the effect of climate change. It shows how climate change affected on Arctic, Amazon, Africa and Antarctic. I saw all 4 series of documentary films, but the 1st series is the most memorable one for me. It has great video with great music. It is also containing important message about climate change. Frankly speaking, this film made me to realize about the climate change. So, I’m introducing it to you now.

“Tears of Arctic” talks about life of polar bear at arctic. It reveals how climate change made the polar bear life difficult. Polar bear feed themselves by hunting seal. And seals used to rest on the iceberg, but climate change melted the iceberg. So, it made polar bears hard to find seals. As a result, they starved. Documentary shows gaunt polar bears. The documentary also shows Inuit’s life. Whales are their specialty food. However, due to climate change they are not able to hunt the whale as they used to. And even though they caught whale at one spot, they can not catch the whale at that spot anymore. Because climate change moves whale’s habitat. These kind of things shows seriousness of climate change.

“Tears of Arctic” explicitly shows arctic’s 2008 situation. It’s hard to see without a tear. If you see the documentary film, you will feel their pain. I’m not sure there are subtitle for this film or not. Although there is not subtitle watching the video will give you some clue about the situation since the film has good video. So, I highly recommend you to watch the film.You won’t regret. If you see the film, you might imagine current status of arctic. Unfortunately, it’s been 10 years past from the film aired but nothing has improved related to climate change. So, we can assume that the situation in arctic might be worse than that of 2008. You will recognize the seriousness of situation. I strongly believe that the film can arouse your awareness about climate change.

During last 15 weeks, I talked about climate change. Hopefully, it helped you to realize it’s occurrence. Climate change is real. Let’s not hesitate to act. WE SHOULD ACT NOW. THANK YOU. BYE.

--

--