A Love Letter to Bon Iver

The Band That Makes my Heart Happy

Corinne Gumpman
Corinne’s Soapbox
2 min readApr 17, 2022

--

Something that I have never lacked is an appreciation for music. Alternative, indie, rock, emo rap, you name it. However, some artists in particular have impacted me more than they could ever know or fathom.

Bon Iver is one band that has a special place in my heart.

Bon Iver, meaning “good winter” and based on the French bon hiver, is an American indie folk band founded in 2006 by singer-songwriter Justin Vernon.

Vernon released Bon Iver’s debut album, For Emma, Forever Ago, independently in July 2007. The majority of this album was recorded while he was isolated in a cabin in western Wisconsin.

For Emma, Forever Ago is the album of some of the most iconic Bon Iver songs. “Flume,” “Skinny Love,” “Re: Stacks.” They are all perfect. Every word evokes the pain that Vernon felt while the acoustic guitar sets the mood.

“Skinny Love,” Bon Iver

Not only is the music produced by Bon Iver genuinely euphonic, but I have also established a special connection with their music.

I always knew the song “Skinny Love” as it was pretty popular in the early 2000s when it was released. However, I really started listening to their music when I came to college. It was relatively recent when I fell in love with their music. I listened to “Holocene” on repeat this past fall and winter. Naturally, I now associate their music with past experiences. I now associate “Holocene” with this past Christmas because of how much I listened to it during that period. It reminds me of cherishing every moment I was not consumed by schoolwork, walking into a home completely decorated for the holidays, cuddling in bed with my cat, opening gifts on Christmas morning. This one song has so much meaning for me, one singular person.

It is crazy to think that one song or artist could mean such a great deal or represent so much for one individual.

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and life to everything.” — Plato

This quote by Plato encapsulates the incredible impact of music on human beings. I fully believe that music has the ability to shape us into the people we are. Listening to Bon Iver has made me appreciate things that I did not enjoy before. Their music has taught me that it is okay to sit with our negative emotions. Feeling pain is normal and even beautiful if you think about it.

Basically, Bon Iver and Justin Vernon, if you are reading this, I love you. Thank you for making me enjoy sad, soft tunes.

--

--