Coronavirus SF: April 15, 2021 — Appointment Games

Xian Ke
Coronavirus in San Francisco
2 min readApr 15, 2021

Hello coronavirus-sf subscribers!

Greetings from the Washington, DC area. What a difference 3 months can make! In software engineering, there’s a sense of progress when we encounter new bugs and different problems; at least we’re not totally stuck on the exact same problems! It’s similar with the Covid vaccinations. Now that everyone age 16+ is eligible in California, the problem becomes finding available appointments. Here’s a page with some helpful info: https://itsmyshot.weebly.com/appointments.html. People have also had success booking slots shown through these notifications: https://t.me/s/bayareavaccinenotification. Feel free to message me if you’re stuck!

I’m flying back to SF later today. It looks like the vaccines have finally helped SF “flatten the curve.” 😅 Basically, stats look good. On my second visit to the Moscone Center earlier this month, I noticed that small adjustments sped up the on-site vaccination lines. My second dose experience was 2X faster than the first dose! And I never felt incapacitated by the vaccine. As of today, 59% of SF residents have gotten at least one vaccine dose, and 38% have gotten both doses (sfgov.org). Israel, which leads vaccinations globally, has 61% of residents with at least one dose (ourworldindata.org).

Even after vaccinations, some of the more introverted among us aren’t looking to immediately attend wild parties every night. For those who’ve been holding off on air travel, know that I would’ve flown across the country for my dad’s birthday even without having gotten the vaccine myself. My parents are vaccinated! The mRNA vaccines start kicking in within 2 weeks of the first dose, though reach full effectiveness 2 weeks after the *second* dose (cdc.gov). A gradual progression!

Later this year, I plan to retire this pandemic-era newsletter. It’d be great to meet some of you in SF, perhaps this summer after more vaccinations! 😎In other news, I’ve been getting up-to-speed on climate change, which has the potential to affect the globe even more than this pandemic. Here’s a referral link to a free site I’ve been using to help track/reduce my home’s energy use: https://ohm.co/key2xanadu (the site is offering $25 for Californians who sign up and connect their electricity accounts before April 30, and my account gets a referral bonus too; thanks venture capitalists ;)).

Happy appointment hunting! 🍀

— Xian

Originally published at https://mailchi.mp.

--

--