The human factor of online learning

Adrienne Cooper
Corporate Instructional Design
2 min readJan 28, 2022

I was recently asked to help convert an online PowerPoint deck into an eLearning Module. There was already an existing module on the Learning Management System, but the organization was changing a process. Because of this company-wide change, there would be a series of virtual webinars.

In a company of over 50,000 employees, not everyone would make the webinar and the purpose of the eLearning course was to be an alternative. It would also serve as an introduction to the process for new employees.

The Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) were great and very knowledgeable, but I found myself having to fight to keep information in the course, instead of stripping the course. I think one of the main lines to balance was the knowledge of the SMEs on the topic and the knowledge of a newcomer with those who may have experience in the older process.

We don’t want to overwhelm people with words because they may not want to read it.

My initial reaction was I don’t care, they need words. My response was much more diplomatic. Words are important. In a world where most people are into pictures and videos, words still hold a strong place.

We cannot expect learners to know everything, just because we put up a picture. This is especially true when teaching a new process. Words explain the picture because learners don’t know what SMEs know.

Streamlining Content is great. Except when streamlining content means all that’s left on the screen is a quote. Even if you think learners are smart enough to figure it out, adding questions for them to think about helps.

Side Note: I will not streamline an area so much that it only consists of a quote. I will delete the whole section. If we agree it needs to be in there, it needs to have some substance. Quotes are great, substance is better.

In the busyness of the day, part of my job is to encourage project owners and SMEs to slow down and think through content provided and challenge some of the feedback they give as I work through a project for them.

I’m starting to think of it as a project within a project.

Project 1: Grab the attention of project owners and SMEs to get quality information, content, goals and desired performance change.

Project 2: Create, Design, Modify and Build a great draft.

Project 3: Gently but persistently fight for learners needs and best practices when incorporating feedback.

Project 4: Deliver a project, I would be proud to put my name on. Simultaneously, a project SMEs, project owners and learners all find beneficial.

Hidden Project 5: Remind myself that it’s the best I can do right now and if there needs to be changes, don’t get upset. Just implement them the best way I know how.

--

--