Deep Dive on IBM Corporate Service Corps

Emily S (CSC)
Corporate Service Corps in Brisbane
4 min readJul 23, 2018

The first time I heard about CSC was while I was in the IBM Summit Sales Program in 2012 and someone came to a training class to speak about it. I remember thinking this is an incredible opportunity, but being new to IBM, I didn’t meet the requirements yet. The program was always on the back of my mind and I finally applied 5 years later in 2017.

IBM Corporate Service Corps (CSC) Program
This year is CSC’s 10 year anniversary! Established in 2008 as a global leadership development program, Corporate Service Corps is pro bono consulting helping problem solve with communities all over the world. Every year, IBM sends 500 employees on a 1 month CSC assignment and teams are eight to fifteen members from different countries and backgrounds. The program serves a triple benefit: (1) Communities have their problems solved. (2) IBMers receive leadership training and development. (3) IBM develops new markets and global leaders.

Program metrics from 2008–2016 (Source)

All the projects are shared in the IBM CSC Projects website. One of my favorites is the Ghana 12 Team work with TECHAiDE and Peace Corps to help improve education and development for girls.

Application & Selection Process
In summer 2017, I received a reminder email about applying to CSC. There were two thoughts when I got that email: (1) Can I complete the application in time? I wasn’t aware the application period was open and it was close to the deadline. (2) Should I wait until 2018? I would be a stronger applicant with the volunteer opportunities planned for the rest of 2017. However, that same day, I was having lunch with my co-worker and friend, Brian, who is a CSC alum (Kenya Team 9). Our talk removed any thoughts that were holding me back. I am thankful for his encouragement and support to apply, because I would not be blogging about Australia now.

The application process spans over a couple months. In order to apply, you are required to have worked at IBM for at least two years and be fluent in English. It is also important to have manager recommendations, great year-end reviews, and a commitment to community service. The applicant answers a few questions about themselves and completes essays.

Showcasing IBM Watson TJ Bot at Tribeca Film Festival (2017)

In my application, I wrote about my volunteer efforts in STEM (including how I involved IBM in these opportunities) and IBM sponsored events (US Open, Tribeca Film Festival), my experience co-creating Pillars for Carolina Extended Orientation for incoming freshmen (now a university backed program) when I was a student at the University of South Carolina, and how the CSC program will help me develop and grow at work and while serving the community.

Co-Leading the Girls Who Code IBM NYC SIP Mentor Workshop (2017). Each participant was paired with an IBM mentor over the summer program. Part of my application was about my involvement with GWC.

The year that you apply, you are seeking an assignment the following two years. For me, it was 2018–2019. Only a small percentage of IBMers that apply get into the program, so I was extremely happy when I received my notification that I get the opportunity to giveback in a new way.

Assignment to Australia
In June, I received an email to join the first team going to Australia. It was late one evening when I read the email, but I was immediately re-energized and jumping for joy! With the program, there is a fast turnaround and you have to quickly respond because if you are unable to do that specific assignment, you will be put back on the ‘waiting for assignment’ list and another person will be asked to join the team. I reached out to my manager and leads of the various teams I work with and received full support, including from CSC alum, Brad from (Kazakhstan Team 2). While I am in Australia, my day job will be put on pause (graciously backed by my teammates) and I will be 100% fully immersed with my Brisbane assignment.

Throughout this summer, I have been working with my CSC team in preparation to going to Australia! Every team completes training and education prior to going to their assignment country. My team is fantastic and I have enjoyed getting to know them! I cannot wait to meet them all in person!

Originally published at medium.com on July 23, 2018.

--

--