Forcing Typos and Redundant Phrases for My SEO Clients

The importance of drawing healthy boundaries with your customers.

Ash Jurberg
Corporate Underbelly
5 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Source: Adobe Library Image

My heart raced as I clicked the "Apply" button. The freelance writing job seemed like it had been tailored to my skills. Writing articles about exotic destinations for a "top 30 global travel blog" perfectly blended my two biggest passions — traveling the world and writing about those adventures. I saw this as a launching pad for a travel writing career, jet-setting the world and telling readers of my journeys.

This was my first time venturing onto the online freelance platform Upwork. I had spent years in marketing, churning out brochures, advertisements, and web copywriting for companies before finally becoming a full-time freelance writer. The sheer number of project bids from writers worldwide initially intimidated me, and I second-guessed myself. Imposter syndrome took over, and doubts crept in. But TravelBlog's criteria of writing and travel skills were situated ideally in my wheelhouse.

I tailored my proposal to showcase my expertise across six continents, attached some articles, and nervously hit the blue "Submit Proposal" icon. For the next three days, I checked my email incessantly, hoping few candidates could come close to my level of expertise.

--

--