I Reported a Colleague for Racism. I Was Told Her Racist Comments Were "Hearsay".

Corporations claim they adhere to human rights laws. It's not always the case.

Joanna Henderson
Corporate Underbelly

--

rawpixel.com via freepik.com

Everyone expects to work in a professional environment where they are treated fairly and well. Historically, we haven't always had the best work ethics, which is why we have labour laws in place. They aren't perfect, but they work decently well when it comes to tackling issues such as racism, discrimination, sexism, and other human rights violations. Sadly, sometimes, the legal system fails us. And at certain times, the company's management does.

I had to report a former colleague for an array of issues, including racism. Because no one should be racist towards others, especially when one's inappropriate remarks can affect that person's work and mental health, you would think my manager had a proper reaction to my complaint. No. I was eventually told that my reporting racist comments constituted hearsay. This was appalling, especially considering the context.

This is the story of how, even in a progressive country with countless human rights protection laws, racism isn't always being taken seriously.

O Canada, Our Home and Racist Land

--

--

Joanna Henderson
Corporate Underbelly

Canadian. Mental health activist. Banker and financier who drinks too much coffee. Pursuing happiness and sharing my thoughts with others.