The Benefits of Enduring an Incompetent Boss

Before jumping ship, take notes. Bad bosses can be a goldmine in learning what not to do and say

Michael Thompson
Corporate Underbelly

--

pexels

Before stepping into the office at my first job out of college, I was acutely aware of my manager’s reputation. Being hard to find was one of her more redeeming qualities. When she was around, she rarely smiled, was always in a rush, and depending on the day, had a temper that rivaled Elon Musk’s.

During my exit interview, a manager in the same department didn’t even know I was on her team. “Wow!” he said with an apologetic look. “There are only thirty of us in total. That explains a lot.”

My second job was in sales. As someone who grew up shy with a severe stutter, I wouldn’t have lasted a week if it hadn’t been for the support of my manager. He was the polar opposite of my first boss. He listened. He treated people as individuals. He gave us space to fail while being there when we needed a hand.

I’ve been self-employed since I left those jobs fifteen years ago. But, despite being entrepreneurial, I’ve still had bosses; some were good, others not so much.

When looking back, I learned a lot from the good ones. But many of the lessons that stuck and have served me well during my career came at the hands of the…

--

--

Michael Thompson
Corporate Underbelly

Co-creator of two cool kids • Storytelling Coach •.Fast Co., Insider, Forbes • Free storytelling guide here: https://bit.ly/3h1KZeT