UNETHICAL BUSINESS PRACTICES

The Greedy Owner Who Should Have Taken Notes on Leadership

Why mistreating low income workers eventually get found out, no matter how sneaky you are.

Sean Kernan
Corporate Underbelly
6 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Pexels Images Tima Miroshnichenko

I’d taken up a new job doing home installations at a local fitness equipment company, where we were paid minimum wage. It generally involved heaving heavy equipment through narrow doorways, up stairs, and installing 1000 parts to make it work. We saw the full gamut of homes and chaos of how people lived.

As a small consolation, we got tips from our clientele. These tips were usually minimal. But I was happy to be employed and would take what I could get. I needed the money more than ever, and liked having a schedule.

The boss, Ron, was a scraggly haired middle-aged man from New Jersey, with a thick accent and a propensity to curse. He could be funny, charming and technically competent. He shared tons of wisdom about how to do our job. By the time I left the company, I felt like I could build a treadmill from scratch.

How it all started and went south

It was a rather simple job with two parts. You were either working at the retail store, or you were delivering equipment and doing installations. Nothing…

--

--

Sean Kernan
Corporate Underbelly

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.