Blend 2015: Cannot add additional fields to a type… error

Corrado Cavalli
Corrado Cavalli
Published in
1 min readAug 13, 2015

Yesterday repaved my machine and installed Windows 10 and Visual Studio 2015, I then loaded one of the projects I’m working on and I’ve a been shocked to discover that none of my views was rendering in Blend 2015 because of this error: “Cannot add additional fields to a type that does not have a constructor”

image

Thanks to Blend team I was pointed to a workaround that fixed it (at least for me)

Go to Tools->Options->XAML designer and check the option: Run project code in XAML Designer (if supported) and reload the project

image

Hope it helps.

--

--

Corrado Cavalli
Corrado Cavalli

Senior Sofware Engineer at Microsoft, former Xamarin/Microsoft MVP mad about technology. MTB & Ski mountaineering addicted.