Genymotion issue with Windows 10 10586

Corrado Cavalli
Corrado Cavalli
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2015

I use Genymotion for my Xamarin Android development, I know that both Xamarin and Microsoft provide their own emulator but, for my machine configuration Genymotion is the one I like most at the moment.

This post is to help you find a solution in case the virtual device doesn’t boot on a machine after the upgrade to TH2 aka build 10586, with this message:

image

obviously the message is meaningless, digging into device log file located at %LocalAppData%\Genymobile\Genymotion\deployed\ I’ve discovered that error depends on a network issue:

0:00:01.362237 VMSetError: Failed to open/create the internal network ‘HostInterfaceNetworking-VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter #4’

After doing several test and internet search I finally found the reason of the problem: no idea why but an option in the adapter settings was not selected:

image

The option is: VirtualBox NDIS6 Bridged Networking adapter, if not selected, select it and try again, your emulator should now work (or at least, it worked for me)

works-on-my-machine-starburst

Hope it works for you too, otherwise good luck finding the solution, if you find it please share, Genymotion support for free licenses is far than optimal.

--

--

Corrado Cavalli
Corrado Cavalli

Senior Sofware Engineer at Microsoft, former Xamarin/Microsoft MVP mad about technology. MTB & Ski mountaineering addicted.