October 26, 2021 ~ For Jose

Dorothy Santos
Cosmic Propulsions
Published in
3 min readOct 27, 2021
A vintage Sony portable television replete with knobs, a stand, antennae, and handle. It sits on top of a dark stained wooden table with a white wall in the background.
Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash. Image description: A vintage Sony portable television replete with knobs, a stand, antennae, and handle. It sits on top of a dark stained wooden table with a white wall in the background.

Thank you so much for dinner tonight. You and Joanne are two of my favorite people on planet earth and family to me. I wish we all had more time to watch our favorite shows (all the ones that you two have already introduced me to). I cannot stop watching What We Do in the Shadows episodes because they make me laugh and help reduce the anxiety I feel on a daily basis. I miss our Ted Lasso Thursday nights, but I would love to hang out and watch Why Women Kill. I forgot where I left off with that show, but I would be willing to re-watch episodes to refresh my memory. I love that show as well because the writing and acting is pretty clever and traverses three time periods in a smart way. As I write you this missive, I’m watching Impeachment and found myself absolutely enthralled by a story I vividly remember when I was a freshman in college. It’s wild to think about all of this time that has passed only to be just as engaged by the story. Sometimes, however, I think my fascination with these true crime stories, horror, and sci-fi all take me away from the worries and anxieties I experience in my daily life. As I’ve mentioned to other people, especially with true crime, I always think to myself, “Well, life is not that bad and I feel very lucky” (even though I keep telling myself I’m going to get a metal bat for my apartment and car). Again, as I mentioned to you and Joanne, I stopped watching true crime after 10 pm. Well, except for Tuesdays since new episodes of Impeachment are aired.

I’m trying my best to incorporate ritual into my life and allowing myself time to watch movies and tv shows because I need to get out of my head. This past year and a half has been challenging for all of us and trying to get back into a routine has been tough, honestly. I’m glad you’re exploring and getting walks into your schedule. I used to do that all the time, but yes, the rain has dampened (pun intended) my plans of a daily walks. I’ll have to try out the treadmill you were talking about at the gym. I wish I was more disciplined and extroverted. But I’m neither one. I say this because I wish I could go to the climbing gym near me and just climb with a stranger, but I would prefer to not do that because it means I might actually have to speak with someone and carry on a conversation. Honestly, at times, I feel like I loved the time away from the world this past year and a real good excuse to not see family members that I’m not really close to either (other than my mom since we’re obviously close). It’s true, I am an introvert that performs extroversion. Anyway, I should get to bed. Thanks again for the amazing dinner and night out. I always love spending time with you and Joanne. It means the world to me and does so much good for my soul when I’m around you both. As I’ve mentioned time and time again, you two are more than best friends, you’re family. ♥️

On the digital thread of the time-space continuum, here is a post from October 26, 2011.

--

--

Dorothy Santos
Cosmic Propulsions

Bay Area-based writer, artist, and educator | Ph.D. candidate in Film & Digital Media | Executive Director of Processing Foundation | Board Member with POWRPLNT