My Sources of Motivation

Antonio D'Costa
CostaPG
Published in
2 min readApr 2, 2019

Ok, So I wasn’t supposed to write this in Public ever, but since I’ve got asked about this about three times already, I figured I might as well do.

Before that, a word of caution that this is a very personal thing, and each one will have their set of views about motivation- on what is “right” and what is “wrong”; But this is me.

If you can’t digest it the “right” way, if you find it doesn’t work for you, you’re definitely right. Period.

The questions are usually as such:

What do you read to stay motivated?

I read very few “motivational” things during my studies.

Most of my time I was focused on studies.
The Rest of my time I was figuring out and taking courses online on how to get organised.

PART A

But through all this, ONE thing remains: Everytime I felt like ALL this was a burden, I watched videos by this one guy: Grant Cardone.

OK, so he IS hard to digest for some people owing to his brags about being rich, but you have to understand the main reason I followed his videos (and a part of his life): He went from BELOW ZERO, to the guy he is NOW- through PURE EFFORT.

He was in WORSE conditions than you will ever be, and he still made a life out of himself.

Now the best part about him, though, is that he actually takes the time out to teach how he does what he does, and how he thinks about a situation or a problem.

And that’s the mindset that’s important while studying for NEET PG.

PART B

There were other’s too. With the same theme: Take Ryan Serhant — Risked it all by going to New York and living with 20 guys in a single room, surviving day to day and eventually is THAT now.

My point is not that I follow “rich” people. I just don’t follow “motivational” speakers who speak on things to pep you up. It’s like someone telling you how to clear NEET PG when they themselves haven’t.

Silly right?

But these folk have gone from 0 to somewhere through a proper trade/job and THEN teach other’s.

That’s different. That teaches you discipline and mindset.

PART C

I read books- Maybe managed just one: Extreme Ownership by Jocko Willink.

If you think your life is tough, imagine what a US NAVY SEAL has to deal with when bullets are being fired at them.

Then read that Book, a chapter at a time.

PERIOD.

PART D

I joined a few groups on FaceBook which would have a high collection of highly motivated people.

There’s plenty useless one’s, so it’s best you find one’s that fit your values.

The main point is that HOW you THINK and WHO you BEHAVE like WILL depend on the FIVE people you encounter most often.

Best then them be people like Uncle G, or Serhant or some folk on FB trying to do something big, right?

{This article is a part of the CostaPG publication.}

--

--

Antonio D'Costa
CostaPG

Doctor- MD Pediatrics, KEM and Wadia Hospitals, Mumbai.