10 Paintings You Should Not Miss

Get ready for a roller coaster of emotions

Kamna Kirti
Counter Arts

--

Idyll by George Quaintance. Source — Public Domain

It’s been two years since I began about art history and interpreting art symbolism.

When someone asks me, “how did I land up in this niche being an engineer and worked in corporate for over 10 years?”

I usually reply, “I love interpreting art history and my audience like reading it.”

So here I curate 10 paintings across different timelines in history that would:

  • Help you understand the psychology of an artist.
  • Arouse your curiosity.
  • Engage you with fascinating stories about art history.
  • Often frighten you and play with your psyche.
  • Make you resilient.
  • Aesthetically appeal to you.
  • Spark your creativity.
1. Untitled by Zdzislaw Beksinski (1984)
2. Idyll by George Quaintance (1952)
3. The Russian Bride’s Attire by Konstantin Makovsky (1889)
4. Rape by Rene Magritte (1945)
5. Dream Caused by the Flight of a Bee Around a Pomegranate a Second Before Awakening by Salvador Dalí (1944
6. The Dream of the Fisherman’s Wife by Katsushika Hokusai
7. Frenzy of Exultations by Władysław Podkowiński
8. Study after Velázquez’s Portrait of Pope Innocent X by

--

--

Kamna Kirti
Counter Arts

Art and life enthusiast. I engage with art at a deep level. I love to document my life experiences. Mama to Yoda 🐕 and Rumi 👨‍👧‍👶