PROMPT RESPONSE

A Charitable General Paper

Devaluing happiness, friendship, and film

Will Hull
Counter Arts
Published in
4 min readNov 12, 2021

--

Woodwork and photo by author

General Paper’

What does that mean?
It’s a school subject? You discuss paper for a semester?
I’m perplexed.

My American education from last century has no concept of this. I’m baffled. As near as I can figure, the closest experience I can relate to is writing essays for college admissions.

As this is a school-age topic, not of happiness, charity, social media and film, but of general paper essays, I’ll revert to school, but dive further back than college.

1980. Grade 7. Age 12.

Day 1: Wood shop class
Mr. Gaudio’s question, “What is pride?

I was perplexed then, too. I think we all were.
I was expecting to be given some wood and some sandpaper.
The only piece of wood we got was №2 pencils. The only paper, blank sheets of 8 1/2 x 11.

“What is pride?”

Looking around the room, I could read the same thought in every other kid’s blank stare, ‘What the hell?’ (I didn’t start using ‘wtf’ until two years later).

--

--