A Francis Ford Coppola Ranking

Reece Beckett
Counter Arts
Published in
15 min readJun 26, 2022

--

On cinema’s most underrated renegade.

Francis Ford Coppola famously photographed on the set of Apocalypse Now (1979).

Having now seen all of the films from Francis Ford Coppola that were at least somewhat appealing (Hell, I watched Jack, so I think I’ve earned a free pass on films like Finian’s Rainbow!), I figured that it was time that I gave his films a ranking and took a brief look back at each one. We’ll be going backwards, starting with the weakest, and from there it’ll all be upwards! Here are most of the films from one of America’s finest directors of all time put together in a personal order based on favouritism! I won’t be including New York Stories, as it’s more of a short film as opposed to a feature, but I will say that Coppola’s part of it is really quite bad. Scorsese certainly holds the project together. I also won’t be including The Godfather Epic, which is a supercut of the first two Godfather films into a single work, but I will say that that one is certainly worth seeing. This may serve as something of a blueprint to a larger Coppola retrospective somewhere down the line, too. He’s one of the all time greats, and a real renegade of the form.

18. Jack (1996)

A still from Jack (1996).

--

--

Reece Beckett
Counter Arts

Film/music critic and poet. New articles every Mon, Thurs & Sat. Poetry on Sundays! Contact: reecebeckett2002@gmail.com https://linktr.ee/reecebeckett