Actress Natalie Portman Did Not Like My Piece of Space

Sharing my Thoughts as a Non-Winner (Very Conversational)

Mel Marakalala
Counter Arts
5 min readOct 17, 2021

--

A photo of Danbo in a box of teabags
Image of Danbo by Jem Sahagun from Unsplash

I had stopped entering writing and all other competitions for a long time. I simply never won. And each time, I would tell myself that there are writers and artists obviously better than me. A truth you kind of accept by yourself sitting in a corner somewhere.

At first, that statement is strangely calming, but then it gets somewhat heart-breaking. You think the world of yourself and suddenly every few people in this world have what you love the most completely figured out, completely better than you believe you ever could be. A little bit of the insecurities is so magical, is it not?

Yet, I decided to enter the Medium Writer’s Challenge because it seemed exciting to me. One last ride, as Vin Diesel’s Dominic Toretto always puts it. They said they were looking for something that stood out. If you have ever seen my work, it’s different alright. Not in the oh, I’m so quirky sense, but rather because I enjoy telling the simple stories. I never get too serious, never too political, never very-very personal... did someone say fluff?

Well, my good sir, there is nothing wrong in taking a piece of wood and giving it a life of its own. I prefer writing about things more than I do about people. That is what excited me the most: I could write about something other than any human condition.

So I Went for Space.

I started writing about the different experiences and relationships I have with the different spaces around me. It was amazing writing that, because all my memories of those mundane moments taken for granted came flooding in the goo of my yucky brain.

I wrote, from the bottom of my heart, about the distance between me and my neighbors. I said a little something about the shelves in my kitchen and the groceries that find space in them. I even gave an honorable mention of my own to my bra strap – Lucy from the block. Lucy says hi, everyone. I also wrote about the dark spots on my face, the space I occupied in people’s minds (or did not), the flowers in my garden, and the stars in the universe. Did someone say fluff? Someone keeps saying fluff. Why do you keep saying fluff? You’re the fluffy one, fluffy!

Anyway, let's ignore the haters. Mainly because I still look to that piece for inspiration. That is the kind of writer I enjoyed being. That and whenever I write about artworks I have seen. Thus I will not tolerate getting bullied for that on this or any platform! You take care now, Mr.

So, Space.

It was fun giving another competition a chance. I have not one bit of regret. Plus I get to live for the rest of my life knowing that one of my favourite Hollywood actresses, Natalie Portman, possibly read my work. Highly possibly. She probably smiled a little at one of my lines. Right, guys? Give me a second. I'm tearing up a little.

V for Vendetta is just still one of my favorite films and Annihilation was incredibly interesting. I loved the shimmer, how beautiful everything was, the moving intestines and disturbing elements, the two Natalie Portmans towards the end. It was great.

So, Where Did Space Get Me?

Definitely not an honorable mention in the challenge, that's for sure. I could also use a little more wardrobe space. My tiny wardrobe is suffering. I can even hear the poor guy wailing at night, help... help... she doesn't even have jeans. I do have a jean-jacket. And I do like denim, I just haven't found a pair to fall in love with. We are very sentimental about clothes here in my heart.

On the other hand, I did manage to bring some nostalgia to Bostongirl, who responded to the piece. My mother also enjoyed reading it, she is a big fan. Today is a new day as well and I have another opportunity to write, which is why I am writing this right at this minute. There will be other competitions, that I will definitely not be entering. I wish all the luck to those who will.

Speaking of a sprinkle of luck onto some good old-fashioned hard work, I have to also congratulate those that swept The Other Boleyn Girl and the rest of the judges off their feet. You did well, really well. And I mean that sincerely.

Writing is one of the most difficult jobs in content creation and the creative industry in general, in terms of pouring your soul out into the internet and hoping someone either becomes entertained or feels you in some way. Hoping that nobody finds your work incredibly uninteresting and/or harmful to them.

You try your hardest to come up with the perfect sentence all throughout your "4 minute read". You become so fearful of failure, so doubtful of your paragraphs. Then in the end, they become reduced to reads and claps. It gets overwhelming sometimes. It's work, at the end of the day (even for those of us who are not yet paid for it). Because you dedicate your time and energy to it.

You find it very special to piece together your thoughts and feelings. To additionally find a person or two that actually like that and find it how you would have wanted for them to react. Getting that honorable mention was indeed a big deal. You deserved it very much for all that you have put into your writing.

Lastly? That went how it went. I have to go have breakfast in my dirty kitchen and then clean it after. May you all have a great Sunday (currently October 17, 2021 — here in South Africa). And do not forget to keep writing.

Author's Notes

This whole essay was my author’s notes. Sorry.

A poem will be seeing you on Friday. Make sure you dress up nicely.

--

--

Mel Marakalala
Counter Arts

I am my mother's number 1 favourite writer, bringing to you my unique take on things: creative writing and poetry. © All Rights Reserved