‘Argylle’

A review of the film directed by Matthew Vaughn

Quinn
Counter Arts

--

Image courtesy of Universal Pictures and Apple Original Films

Argylle is a film I have wanted to watch for a while and have only just got around to seeing it now. It’s a spy action comedy thriller directed by Matthew Vaughn and written by Jason Fuchs. (I just wanted to write that so I could get away with writing Fuchs in public. And yes, I am well aware that that is ‘fox’ in German as I can understand a fair amount of that beautiful language!)

Matthew Vaughn, by the way, is the man responsible for the initial Kingsman comic book series which inevitably led to the Kingsman trilogy of films. As someone who enjoyed the Kingsman films (or at least the couple that I’ve watched thus far), I wanted to watch Argylle. Okay, and I do have the added extra incentive to watch Argylle because of a certain Mr Cavill. For those who don’t know me, Henry Cavill is one of my favourite actors.

If I’m honest, I wasn’t sure what to expect from this film. From all that I’d heard of it, a lot of people apparently didn’t like this film. In a way, yes, I can see why this wasn’t that popular but I don’t think it was wholly as bad as what people were claiming it was. Some of the reviews were incredibly harsh. I’m going to explain why I thought that later on in this piece.

Argylle focuses on a female writer called Elly Carson, played here by Bryce Dallas…

--

--

Quinn
Counter Arts

Multi-genre writer based in the UK. LGBTQ+. Metal-head. Lover of reptiles, dragons and dinosaurs. Fuelled by Smoothies. Now a Boosted author!