Home Improvement & Maturity

Becoming Middle-Aged Man

Powers & Knowledge Far Beyond Younger Men

Dr. Matthew Pate
Counter Arts
Published in
7 min readSep 20, 2021

--

The Hudson House. Pine Bluff, AR. Home Sweet Home in a rare winter’s snow. 2014. Source Author.

A curious and interesting thing happened recently. My cellular telephone, Internet, home phone (don’t ask) and satellite television provider, AT&T decided it would be a fine time to take a rest from pushing all those ones and zeros through their wires, towers, and air. If you’re under twenty and reading this, I’ll give you a moment to catch your breath. At 56, I was perturbed, but no one called for a defibrillator. Instead, I had to navigate the world old-school.

Let it be noted that I still had electricity, hot, and cold running water. The air conditioning worked just fine. As did the washer, the dryer, several electric hand tools, my truck, and my credit card. So, it’s not like my neighbors and I reverted into a feral, Max Max bartering and deathmatch economy. No, for the most part stuff continued to work like it has for decades.

After about an hour of feeling deprived and disconnected, I drove to the local Staples and used their wi-fi to send a few “got no service” texts to people likely expecting responses to something. Frankly though, after that box was checked, I pretty much got over it.

I went home, changed the sheets on the bed, did some laundry and set about what I had intended…

--

--

Dr. Matthew Pate
Counter Arts

Criminal Justice Researcher. Erstwhile Detective, Author. Mixed Media Artist. Habitual Line Stepper. Loves Dogs and Cats. Holds Doors. Wishes for Better.