Commute With Me to Makati

Traveling to and from work in photos

Harry Male
Counter Arts
5 min readApr 13, 2021

--

It’s surprising how the most stressful moments could become nostalgic now that the world shifted. I’m talking about commuting and heavy traffic. The rush hour. The bundy clock.

In my past life, I mean before Covid, I was a hotel salesperson who was always out meeting clients. Therefore, isolating for more than a year made me realize how much I miss the streets.

My camera roll is my own rabbit hole. (Hey, that rhymed!) For my first day with Dark Room pub, allow me to pour my heart out and share a story that's been sitting in my drafts for months now. I have the tendency to hyper-organize and my favorite victim is my camera roll. I’d browse “All Photos” and notice a theme and put relevant pictures in a folder. One is full of petty shots of the distant moon. Another is full of empty chairs and tables. In doing so, I saw random shots while on the commute. Then, I became nostalgic to see some office photos.

Commuting was strangely meditative for me. It gave me peace of mind. Leaving earlier for work allowed me to avoid the rush hour. Fewer cars and people means saving myself from the city’s toxic pollution — both air and noise. Imagine the calm, quiet, and crisp city mornings you’d miss if you choose to join the panic of city congestion.

The following photos were taken at random times and are years apart but obsessive organizing naturally wrote the story of traveling to and from work.

Accompany me, please?

Let’s start with a high-angle view of cables and the sky, shot right at the gate while waiting for a tricycle to take me to the shuttle terminal.

Let’s start with a high-angle view of cables and clouds shot at the gate while waiting for a tricycle that’d take me to the s
July 30, 2018, 5:26 AM

This is inside the shuttle, along C5 Road, before making a right turn at Kalayaan Avenue.

January 30, 2019, 6:49 AM

Here’s a view of Poblacion’s high-rise buildings, most of which are hotels, giving us a glimpse of our destination. The photo was taken along Kalayaan Bridge.

October 5, 2017, 7:13 AM

This is the drop-off point along the yet-to-be-busy Ayala Avenue. Here’s where I start my daily 1.5-kilometer walk to my destination. (There’s a drop-off near the office but I choose to walk as some sort of warmup before running on a treadmill.)

December 26, 2017, 6:10 AM

A smoggy morning in the concrete jungle, before making a right turn to Makati Avenue.

June 14, 2018, 6:34 AM

Outside Escolta, a wing in Peninsula Manila, taking shelter from the hard rain. I was the only idiot who forgot to bring an umbrella during the monsoon season. Thanks to the security guard for letting me stay for around 10 minutes.

July 17, 2018, 6:44 AM

Continuing my calm and quiet walk along Makati Avenue, carefully crossing Sto. Tomas.

December 26, 2017, 6:15 AM

Passing by my favorite establishment, Zuellig Building. Ah, Christmas season.

December 26, 2017, 6:17 AM

This is the corner of Makati Avenue and Paseo De Roxas. That guy is General Pio Del Pilar, either fighting for something noble or demonstrating a really sick dance move. I love that guy. Far on the right is our elusive destination.

January 19, 2018, 6:42 AM

A grainy picture of a well-dressed man shot on the 2nd floor of a Mcdonald’s. I went in to order take-out for breakfast. . . and to take a piss.

May 5, 2015, 6:20 AM

Here’s a bad picture of a beautiful view of the moon high above the Mandaluyong buildings taken while on the treadmill. I used to religiously jog in the hotel gym before I time in. Don’t fret, I shower after.

February 2, 2018, 6:59 AM

A calm Saturday in the office. Man, I miss having an office.

June 16, 2018, 2:54 PM

Looking out of my office window. I loved this view. This diner is one of the best restaurants in Makati. A bit expensive but the 50s decor is a work of art and the food is amazing. Look at that exterior!

June 16, 2018, 3:38 PM

Another Saturday in the office. A rainy Fete Dela Musique day. See that upside-down car? It’s just one of the many awesome ornaments of the 50s diner.

June 23, 2018, 4:46 PM

Time to go home! This is in Durban, a few steps away from the hotel. Beware of the literally mad people walking and begging for money. There are a few in this area. There are also prostitutes and people of all races. Raunchy.

October 2, 2018, 5:13 PM

Here’s a view in the parking lot where I wait for the shuttle going to Pasig. A famous actress resides in this building per our company driver.

September 18, 2018, 8:48 PM

Traffic was light but the rain was heavy along Kalayaan Avenue heading back to C5 Road.

October 1, 2015, 10:16 PM

Finally in a tricycle headed home. Blurred blue lights along Caruncho Avenue.

April 29, 2017, 8:30 PM

We have reached the end of our commute. Is this creative or just plain nostalgic?

Thanks for joining me!

--

--