TRAVEL PHOTOGRAPHY | GEORGIA

Exploring Georgia's Magnificent Churches

A Photographic Journey Through the Spiritual Heart of Georgia

Somil Gupta
Counter Arts
Published in
5 min readMay 27, 2024

--

Gargeti Trinity Church, Stepantsminda | All photos by the author — Somil Gupta | Shot on Sony Alpha ILCE-6700

When I decided to travel to Georgia, I had no idea I was about to embark on a journey filled with breathtaking architecture, spirituality and rich history.

With very little expectation, I arrived in Tbilisi, the capital city of Georgia. And as fate would have it, my stay was near the city's most magnificent churches within walking distance. The moment I saw it, I was like, WOW!! The craftsmanship of the church took my breath away.

In this story, I'll share the photos I captured and a pinch of the fascinating history behind each one.

Holy Trinity Cathedral of Tbilisi | Sits in the centre of the city

History

Georgia has a vast historical heritage, starting in the 4th century BC. The country tells a story of eras and invaders, with ancient churches, fortresses and ruins.

It is believed that Christianity was first preached in Georgia in the 1st century, but it was in the early 4th century that Christianity significantly influenced Georgian society. St Nino, a missionary…

--

--

Somil Gupta
Counter Arts

Senior software engineer on a journey as a travel storyteller, curating travel itineraries, and sharing insights on cultures, people, and history worldwide. 🌍