Found Faces Part II

You can sometimes discover them without really trying…

Chuck Haacker
Counter Arts
4 min readMar 20, 2022

--

When Krista Bennett shared her charming collection of pictures of barn faces, I was captivated and inspired.

I promised Krista that I would try something with a face I’d seen on a building:

I had so much fun doing that piece that I burrowed back in my archives, looking for more. I dimly remembered when and where some of them were. I've added some broad hints if you have trouble identifying the subtle faces.

All pictures are © Charles G. Haacker.

1903 — 2–8–0 Consolidation, Union Pacific, North Platte, Nebraska

👆 I can’t recall if I spotted this happy face at the time, but I certainly saw it in post.

👆 I titled this fella “Froggle Rock,” but it could be any number of other critters.

👆 This Old Man of the Mountain is a bit of a stretch, but I thought I saw him.

👆 This, I think, is as plain as the nose on the old feller’s face, but I sketched him out anyway. You have to hike quietly past these so as not to awaken them.

👆 I thought I saw the fossilized muzzle of a ceratopsian dinosaur. Can’t find a frill, though.

👆 My wife spotted this profile. You had to be at the exact right angle to see him.

👆 A cluster of shelf fungi turned into a fun guy, albeit a gnarly troll.

I see a face but can’t tell what it is. Another frog?
Duck! Really, duck!
Skull Rock. (What’s down that hole?)
Dogface.
Shark!

👆 In the City of Rocks State Park, New Mexico, the faces are everywhere and wildly varied.

We spotted this pleasant fellow from the car.

👆 This one is found in another City of Rocks — National Reserve in Idaho.

I call this ‘Woman With Water Jar,’ a natural formation.

👆 This Woman With Water Jar is along the Trail of the Mountain Spirits, a 93-mile National Scenic Byway that winds around the southwest corner of New Mexico, back and forth across the forested Continental Divide, through the country’s first national wilderness area, the Gila, and past ancient cliff dwellings. I saw her through the windshield, backed up, parked, and photographed her. I knew on sight what she represented.

These 👇 don’t count, just my whacked-out sense of absurdity.

This is Rose, our Tiny Tent Trailer with loads of personality. 👆
Visiting SUE in Chicago. I couldn’t help myself. 👆 (See what I did there?)

Thanks for reading. I really do appreciate it!

--

--

Chuck Haacker
Counter Arts

Photography is who I am. I can’t not photograph. I am compelled to write about the only thing I know. https://www.flickr.com/gp/43619751@N06/A7uT3T