‘Freddy’s Dead: The Final Nightmare’ (1991): That’s All, Folks!

The whimper before the dawn.

Dylan Grable
Counter Arts

--

Image Source: IMDB. Credit: New Line Cinema.

Warning: Spoilers Ahead.

Going into this film, in particular, I wanted to keep my chin up and my optimism high. I knew that this entry was going to be a real stumble, more so a cascade of trips down a flight of stairs, but I wanted to give it a fair shot.

I say this because I hadn’t seen this film in years, so I thought giving it a fair chance would be for the best.

Hm.

Image Source: IMDB. Credit: New Line Cinema.

The last remaining teen in Springwood escapes, gets amnesia from a rock, and winds up in a shelter for troubled kids. Through a series of bad greenscreens and poor timing, this teen, a therapist, and some cookie-cutter characters end up back in Springwood and encounter Freddy.

Things get messy when Freddy’s child is brought up and some dream sperm monsters get forced into the lore.

As far ‘Nightmare’ plots go, it has a decent setup that devolves into retcons and bad jokes. Like, a ton of corny jokes.

I will compliment ‘The Final Nightmare’ for having some interesting ideas. The…

--

--

Dylan Grable
Counter Arts

I’m just someone on the internet who likes to talk about horror films, shark movies, and whatever else comes to mind.