Friday The 13th (1980): Is The Machete Still Sharp?

Who’s Gonna Tell Them It Was Thursday?

Dylan Grable
Counter Arts

--

Image Source: IMDB

We start the ‘Friday The 13th’ marathon with, well, ‘Friday The 13th’. If we started on Saturday then I’d lose all credibility as a writer, at least what little I have.

However, as I sit in bed and write this, I find myself at a loss for what I can even write about this movie that hasn’t been written before. It’s a good movie, but most horror fanatics out there will tell you that.

So what can I add?

The plot of the movie follows a group of camp counselors that are targeted by a mysterious killer. Can they survive the night? Will they figure out who is hunting them?

Will they ever finish that game of Strip Monopoly?

The story is as basic as a slasher flick can get but as a pioneer for what would be a juggernaut of a genre it works. They were dipping their toes into the likely contaminated lake.

The core of the story lies in the serial killer, and who they could be.

It’s fine enough mystery, and we as the audience get a decent amount of clues to try and figure it out.

For example, we get bits of the camp’s history of death and violence alongside some characters that may not be all there in the…

--

--

Dylan Grable
Counter Arts

I’m just someone on the internet who likes to talk about horror films, shark movies, and whatever else comes to mind.