Gluttony The Sin Pt.2

Personal conversations made to be public: The 7 Deadly Sins

M&Z
Counter Arts
2 min readAug 8, 2022

--

Photo by Henry Be on Unsplash

My dearest “M”;

I will not hide from you that I was surprised by your need to talk to me about such a thing. The 7 Deadly Sins. And of all 7, you chose gluttony. Anyone else would choose to talk about a more “famous” sin like pride or envy or any other. But I couldn’t expect anything else from you. And this is not because gluttony characterizes you as a person to an excessive degree, but because only through your own eyes the world would appear gluttonous and not evil.

I guess this is another element of your poetic way to see the world. And yes, you couldn’t be more right. People are greedy. The world is a glutton because it has never had enough. It is greedy because it never got what he deserved. At least this is true for the vast majority. For the mass.

But what about those few who have everything and continue to be greedy? Power in itself breeds the hunger for power and power the need to enforce it. The few who have much and seek even more. Who are moved emotionally and physically by money and material goods. The few who made gluttony a sin.

To me, man is a gluttonous being. We instinctively seek true feelings, great thrills, new experiences, the best we can have in every field in general. Gluttony, like any other of our instincts, I believe is to some extent a healthy motivation that gives our eyes the glow of eagerness and our body the power of vanguardism.

That’s why, my “M”, I always say to you to never let this spark go out from your gaze. Be gluttonous and thirsty for life.

Whether or not I believe we will one day be judged for this; is too early to tell you. Anyway, we still have hours of discussion ahead of us.

The article you just read is part of our first project, “The 7 Deadly Sins” ,which is a personal conversation between the “M” and “Zeta”. Be ready, my fellow readers, to embrace humanity with all her flaws! You can find our first article HERE. Join us on this journey of evil and virtue.

--

--

M&Z
Counter Arts

We paint and write the art of human emotions, accomplishments, and failures at a social, political, and scientific level. Join us on this journey…