I Built A Mechanical Keyboard

The Lucky Jade Build

Nate Geslin
Counter Arts

--

The finished build: 65% Lucky Jade mechanical keyboard.

Introduction

I wanted to share with you today my latest mechanical keyboard build.

It’s been a little over two years since my last build, and this makes my 3rd full build. I am by no means an expert, but I have been lurking around the hobby for a number of years.

I’ll mention straight away that this build could have gone better. Some things went well; however, there were some rookie mistakes I made early on in the build that would have made for a much softer landing in the end. Overall, the build did produce a nice looking keyboard that I look forward to using for the next little while. Who knows, maybe it’ll be my next daily driver?

Parts of a Mechanical Keyboard

Before we begin, lets review the major parts of a mechanical keyboard:

Switch

These are the things underneath each keycap. Their job is to complete an electrical circuit which then translates into a keypress. Think of switches as something like a light switch.

There are 3 major types of switches, Linear, Tactile, and Clicky.

There are hundreds of different switches out there to choose from, but all of them will fall into one of the three main…

--

--