Illiterate

A French film originally named ‘Illettré’

Oiseau Distrait
Counter Arts
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

Poster of Illiterate, a man is learning to read,
Image credit: TMDB

We are in the era of the Internet. Besides a range of knowledge and news, media is becoming instantly accessible within seconds.

I have a Friday Movie Night weekly in my home sweet home, simply logging in to TV5Monde Plus. My original idea was to practice listening while watching French movies; as time went by, I don’t think there has been huge progress due to my low talent & the temptation of English subtitles, but it is still absolutely an enjoyable night with good movies.

I am a forgetful bird, so, it may be a good idea for me to write down & share some of my favorite movies with you. Maybe you’ll enjoy it, too, what do you think?

Let’s start:

Illettré (Illiterate ~ in English)
Director ~ Jean-Pierre Améris
Writers ~ Cécile Ladjali, Murielle Magellan

Production ~ Escazal Films (France)

Cast ~
Kévin Azaïs as Léo Cramps
Annie Cordy as Adélaide Perez
Sabrina Ouazani as Nora Daoud

‘Vivez a fond maintenant
Demain il sera trop tard’

A revolving sign opposite to the apartment of Léo, a 30-year-old worker, who may never understand…

--

--

Oiseau Distrait
Counter Arts

The forgetful bird ~ an Indie author from Hong Kong . It’s time for me to pick up my camera, paint brush & write, before I forget ! And it’s done !