Inside Auntie’s Dollhouse

Her legacy lives large through her love of miniatures.

Jeff Hayward
Counter Arts

--

scene from a dollhouse
The miniature menfolk getting ready to serenade their family during mealtime. Photo by author

My Auntie Norma had a big imagination for the smallest details.

She was an original. She played a Hawaiian steel guitar and drove around in her stick-shift Volkswagen Beetle. She also became an expert at making miniatures.

In fact, I remember her dollhouse workshop quite clearly.

The room was equipped with Dremel tools, sanders, and wood lacquer. There was usually a thin layer of sawdust on her work table and the smell of it in the air.

scene from a dollhouse
A scale bedroom, complete with an ornate bed quilt. Photo by author

Auntie would painstakingly carve scale furniture for her little houses. The biggest one now stands proudly in my parents’ house following her sudden passing in 2022.

The house stands about six feet tall, with six distinct levels, each with its own unique aesthetic:

a dollhouse
My aunt’s dollhouse is six storeys high, but has many more stories to tell. Photo by author

Over the years, she added more to the dollhouse, occasionally rearranging pieces inside. It was complete, but also a work in progress.

Sometimes a figure would be sitting on the vintage pull-chain flush toilet. In the winter, she’d add cotton snow and a Santa to the carefully shingled roof, to the delight of the miniature children inside.

While Santa has been lost to time, seagulls adorn the roof now.

scene from a dollhouse
A tiny seagull perches on the wooden roof shingles of my aunt’s dollhouse. Photo by author

Auntie had a way with animals. The collection of small pets in the dollhouse resembles the dogs and cats my aunt cared for over the years.

I remember playing with Tia and Betsy, her beloved Lhasa Apso pups. They could smell my hesitation. Betsy didn’t really like me — actually, I don’t think she liked anyone but my aunt.

scene from a dollhouse
A few of the dogs in my aunt’s dollhouse. The two on the left resemble her pets, Tia and Betsy. Photo by author

As Auntie never had children, she would take my brother and me on little adventures. I remember being with her at miniature craft fairs, where she’d buy trinkets to add to the dollhouse. I bought a few myself with my allowance money.

I stared at the dollhouse for hours back then. During a recent visit to my parents’ house, I was compelled to stare at it again, this time with my camera.

scene from a dollhouse
The dollhouse family gets ready to dig into a buffet of baked goods after dinner. Photo by author

The dollhouse was a challenge to photograph. The lighting installed in it isn’t overly flattering.

My dad carefully removed the protective plexiglass from the face of the dollhouse, so I could have a closer look inside without reflections. I used the flashlight on my phone camera to help bring out the small details.

scene from a dollhouse
A dollhouse mom looks after two children and two dogs next to a canopy bed. Photo by author

My aunt was humble, but also a perfectionist. You can tell by the amount of attention she put into her dollhouses, right down to the patterned wallpapers.

She never married, perhaps because there was no man perfect enough. She did share regrets about one suitor in particular, but the grass is always greener she’d say before waving off the subject.

scene from a dollhouse
Tiny hand soap adorns a tiny bathroom vanity. The bathtub is hidden by an ornate screen. Photo by author

She would’ve made a great mom, but that wasn’t her destiny. Luckily, she had big love for my brother and me, who filled the gap.

Many of the dollhouse rooms have children in them. They all appeared happy, listening to the adults play music while they eyed the yummy desserts lovingly laid out for them.

It was her own vision of a loving family home, although she lived on her own for most of her adult life.

She took care of my younger dad and their mother long before we came along. Her last years were difficult for everyone as her sharp mind started to slip, but my dad was there to make sure she was taken care of in return.

scene from a dollhouse
Looking in on one of the dollhouse elders from a draped window. Photo by author

Aside from carving tiny tables and chairs, she also had a skill for making decorative boxes like this one, that my parents also kept. Many hours of work went into this one to make sure it was just right.

carved eagle on a wooden box
An eagle decorating the top of a wooden jewelry box. Photo by author

I hope I did my aunt’s artistic vision some justice with my camera, but the truth is, the dollhouse holds more magic in person.

As did my aunt.

She was a free thinker, and independent in the truest sense. Her American cousin called her a trailblazer for women of her time.

She was ahead of her time, actually—a blueprint for the modern woman. Many young people would probably look up to her today, as a woman born during the worst droughts of the Great Depression.

scene from a dollhouse
A green teddy bear poses within a miniature wall unit, next to a tiny birdcage. Photo by author

Personally, I can’t think of many other women from her era that held down careers, bought their own homes, drove their own cars, and travelled solo overseas.

She loved England like a second home, particularly Kent, with its ornate little homes like dollhouses. She also spent considerable time practicing nursing in California, but she eventually returned. She loved Canadian winters, snuggled under a quilt.

As I age, I’m starting to appreciate why she loved the colder climate so much. It’s a break from the constant barrage of heat, and a time to rest and reflect. It no doubt gave her another excuse to stay in more often to work on her dollhouses.

scene from a dollhouse
Wide-angle photo of a dollhouse bedroom. A baby is napping next to a rotary phone. Photo by author

I’m sure she’d be happy to know her biggest work is well taken care of, and that it’s still getting the attention it deserves.

She’d also be thrilled that her nephews’ children enjoy the dollhouse. My niece and her mom rearranged some of the pieces inside, just like my aunt would have from time to time.

scene from a dollhouse
A wider view of the dollhouse living room, where pups play next to a child’s wooden train set. Photo by author

Admittedly, I added this little doggie to the family dining table for fun. It was one of the many carefully wrapped pieces stored in the “basement” of the dollhouse, which I examined during our visit.

I can almost hear my aunt giggling at the sight of the pup trying to be cute in exchange for some table scraps.

scene from a dollhouse
A scale doggie begs for scraps at the dollhouse dinner table. Photo by author

I’ll do my best to make sure her dollhouse is enjoyed for generations to come.

It’s a beautiful reminder of our dear aunt, who got to spend quality time with her great nephews and niece before she passed. Maybe one day, they will proudly display the dollhouse in their own homes.

scene from a dollhouse
A dollhouse attic, where a tiny fur coat and wicker hat wait to be worn. Photo by author

If I ever find that missing Santa figure, I’ll be sure to make sure he’s perched on the dollhouse roof come Christmastime to spread warmth, like auntie often did.

I never got to say a proper goodbye to auntie. But since she believed in the hereafter, I’d like to think she’ll read this and smile.

But knowing my aunt, she’d probably also point out a grammar mistake—in the most gentle way she could.

photo of norma kent by jeff hayward
My late Aunt Norma cuddling a dog that belonged to my brother’s family. Photo by author

In loving memory of Aunt Norma, 1934–2022

--

--

Jeff Hayward
Counter Arts

Ex-reporter. I like to write about stuff from the past, and stuff in the future.