Music Helps Everyone

or is it just a form of entertainment?

chel writes
Counter Arts
3 min readSep 1, 2023

--

Photo by KOBU Agency on Unsplash

Who’s your favorite musician? I have so many, spanning from the legendary Queen to the contemporary sensation Taylor Swift. Regardless of the genre — be it pop, rock, jazz, country, or soul — music has always held immense importance in my life, nurturing my passion since childhood.

As I type this down, the melodic strains of “Creep” by Radiohead resonate in the background, soothing and inspiring me — since I was initially about to write another depression piece. But instead, I found myself stuck, reflecting on how music truly holds a vital place in my life. It accompanies me through every moment, day and night, shaping my emotions and providing solace during both happy and sad times. Whether I’m working or doing house chores, music remains a constant companion, aiding me in finding focus and comfort. It has a healing power, and I have experienced its profound impact firsthand, as it helps me navigate through life’s challenges and emotions.

In my life, I also have witnessed firsthand the profound impact that music has on both society and individuals. Growing up in a multicultural environment, I was exposed to a diverse range of musical traditions and genres, which helped me appreciate its significance beyond mere entertainment.

However, the role of music in society has been a subject of debate, with some arguing that it plays a vital role while others view it as mere entertainment. Both views have their merits and are worth considering.

On one hand, music undoubtedly holds a significant place in society. Throughout history, music has been used to express emotions, convey cultural values, and foster social cohesion. In various cultures, music has been a powerful tool for storytelling, passing down traditions and preserving history. Moreover, music often serves as a medium to raise awareness about important issues, such as social injustices, environmental concerns, and mental health challenges. For instance, artists like Bob Dylan and Bob Marley used their music to inspire social change and spread awareness about inequality and peace.

On the other hand, some argue that music primarily serves as a form of entertainment for individuals. Indeed, many people listen to music purely for pleasure, relaxation, or to pass the time. With the rise of digital streaming platforms, personalized playlists cater to individual preferences, reinforcing the idea of music as a personal leisure activity.

In my opinion, music is both a significant societal force and an individual form of entertainment. Its cultural, emotional, and educational impact on society cannot be ignored. Simultaneously, it provides individuals with a means of escapism, relaxation, and personal enjoyment. The beauty of music lies in its versatility — it can uplift communities and resonate deeply with individuals simultaneously.

I have witnessed how music brings people together at concerts and festivals, transcending cultural and language barriers. Additionally, certain songs have played a significant role in inspiring social movements and sparking conversation on critical issues.

Music, for me, has always been more than just a source of enjoyment. It played a pivotal role in shaping my cultural identity and connecting me to my roots. From the rhythmic beats of traditional folk songs during family gatherings to the soul-stirring melodies of classical compositions, music served as a bridge between generations, carrying forward the essence of our heritage.

On a personal level, I have often turned to music during challenging times. Whether it was the uplifting tunes of my favorite artists or the soothing sounds of nature-inspired compositions, music acted as a comforting companion during moments of stress and sadness. The lyrics of certain songs have even served as a source of inspiration, encouraging me to persevere through difficult situations and find strength within myself.

Music has a multifaceted role in society. While it undeniably serves as a form of entertainment for individuals, its influence goes beyond personal pleasure. Music’s ability to unite, inspire, and communicate important messages is what makes it an indispensable aspect of society, making it not only an art form but also a powerful agent for change and unity.

Thank you for journeying your time through these words. If you’d like to show support, you can leave a tip below (next to the subscribe button) or you can buy me a coffee here. Wishing you safety and warmth!

--

--

chel writes
Counter Arts

write articles and personal thoughts. publish drafts regularly. sometimes in english or indonesian :)