My Own Photography vs. Midjourney v4’s AI Art

…and why it’s not “stealing” my originals

Jeff Hayward
Counter Arts
Published in
6 min readDec 19, 2022

--

digital art of a robot equipped with cameras
image generated by author using Midjourney v4

Artificial intelligence (AI) has disrupted the art world, causing some artists to panic about being replaced by a machine. So I thought I’d experiment using my own photography to show how AI and artists can work hand-in-hand instead of against one another.

In each of the following samples, I took the original photo. So, my work is being used as the reference for Midjourney’s generations, not another artist. Midjourney takes my image (and simple prompt) and generates something original using a random seed number (the starting point.) Do I own this new artificially generated version? No. But as you will see, you can use AI to re-imagine your own works, which you can use and sell freely.

Here are some of my own samples fed into Midjourney v4. The titles are the exact text prompts I entered alongside the original images.

‘Bird in snow’

author’s original photo
Midjourney v4 version

--

--

Jeff Hayward
Counter Arts

Ex-reporter. AI critic. Nostalgia lover. Canadian. Follow my publications Ai-Ai-OH and CanadEH.