Ranking the Films of Paul Schrader

Reece Beckett
Counter Arts
Published in
2 min readNov 28, 2022

--

My favourite currently living director.

The great Paul Schrader receiving a Golden Lion lifetime award recently at Venice.

I do plan to eventually do a retrospective on Schrader, however, time is quite tight at the moment and so I thought it best to rank his work before writing further. I also don’t want to publish much online regarding his career, as his work is a potential dissertation subject for me and I don’t want to shoot myself in the foot by publishing my work online (yet). So, here goes (and do keep in mind that a couple of his films I genuinely just couldn’t find, but I did watch all that I could access):

(From worst to best)

Dominion: Prequel to the Exorcist (3/10)
Cat People (4/10)
Dog Eat Dog (5/10)
Dying of the Light (its directors cut, DARK, is much better)
The Walker (6/10)
Adam Resurrected
Auto Focus
Patty Hearst (7/10)
Hardcore
American Gigolo
The Canyons (8/10)
The Comfort of Strangers (9/10)
Mishima
Blue Collar
Light Sleeper
First Reformed (10/10)
The Card Counter

--

--

Reece Beckett
Counter Arts

Film/music critic and poet. New articles every Mon, Thurs & Sat. Poetry on Sundays! Contact: reecebeckett2002@gmail.com https://linktr.ee/reecebeckett