Sand

Photos and poem

Asterion
Counter Arts
2 min readJun 22, 2021

--

Great Ocean Road/Twelve Apostles, Australia. Photo by author.

It was some times ago, a British sky

came to visit. Who was I then?

Still a woman, still my body, still complaining and contemplating.

It was time ago, eleven of the wise were either fallen

on in hide. Under a changing blue, history unveiled

and the rock spoke in the same words

and tongue of the sea.

The smell of sand, and the defensive waves

all of it was in play for just one hour

of that one day. Some things always disappoint

people like me, others

cannot. I cannot force my sadness

I cannot always run back to the maze

I was ancestrally taken from.

And maybe one day I’ll stop

taking all these pictures, all the time, from all the angles

and maybe that day

I’ll stop, sit, and relax

I’ll be able to breathe from my tummy. Maybe

maybe….maybe. For now, here the photos I took

that day, now one year ago, or more:

Photo by author
Photo by author. My friend Donato, and one of the Apostles on the corner of the horizon
Photo by author
Photo by author.

P.S. I wrote the poem to fit the photos, and imho there might be something to go from there. I usually don’t change my poems much, but with this one I might one day. So it can stand alone, like the only Apostle we were able to see that day.

--

--